Easy Arroz con Gandules Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This is a great recipe for Arroz con Gandules - and I have had plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
As a Puerto Rican, I'm clearly impressed! The recipe turned out wonderful and I added a few more garlic cloves than the recipe calls for. As for the spanish seasoning package, I highly recommend using Sa-son's Culantro y Achiote seasoning packets (in english- coriander and annatto seasoning), it's authentic, tasty, and easy to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is a GREAT recipe!! I have attempted to make similar dishes in the past that did not turn out well - but this recipe is Exact, and my husband (who is Spanish and very picky) loved it!!! This was the first time I ever made Spanish rice that he actually liked. Thanks for this great recipe - I will use it often from now on : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I was looking for a truly authentic Latin rice and beans recipe that a friend used to make for potlucks years ago…and I found it here! I followed the recipe pretty closely, except I added a few crumbled strips of bacon, because I remembered my friend’s recipe had bacon in it, and I used a yellow Spanish rice instead of the brown, and chicken broth instead of water for more flavor. Even my picky eater son enjoyed this and actually had seconds! It was a perfect side dish to chicken fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This was an awesome recipe! Very authentic. Ive already made it twice. The family loves it. I served it with homemade enchiladas and refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I cheated on this recipe and used jarred Goya Soffrito - good stuff and cuts some of the work out. I sauteed an onion with a little oil to start and substituted 8 oz. of the tomato sauce with the soffrito and used Goya Culantro y Achiote seasoning. It was excellent! It took far less than 45 minutes to cook since I have a gas stove top, though. Good thing I checked on it because it would have burned. Perfect recipe and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
My neighbor makes this and it is great!! Now I don't have to beg her to make it for me...the best thing about it- to make it soo good is the pigeon peas and spiceier peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Omg Soooo good. I've tasted traditional Arroz con gandules, and this taste just like it. Will deffinitly make again. everyone in my fam loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I work at a school with a predominantly hispanic population and during a class party a student brought this in. This recipe tastes exactly like it! Although I cheated and added cooked rice at the end, stir frying it instead of letting it simmer. Saves so much time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I loved this! But how do you get that "sticky" crispy well done rice that is suppose to be stuck to the bottom of the pan?? I remember it growing up and that was the best part! Does anyone know? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States