Easy Arroz con Gandules Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
Nice flavor! I had to guestimate the tomato sauce (I only had a 28 oz can) and overdid it so my rice was mushy, but it still tasted great! This is a great recipe because using homemade sofrito you don't get all the additives and msg found in Goya sofrito. I added some adobo as well. Also, cutting the sofrito recipe in half still gave me more than enough to make this dish. Tastes like the arroz con gandules I've had in Puerto Rican restaurants without all the msg! Fried plantains (platanos) were an excellent accompaniment for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
I made this using ingredients I had on hand, substituting 1 can of pinto beans and 1 can of black beans for the gandules, and attempting my own spanish seasoning with paprika, cumin, oregano, red pepper flakes, & garlic powder. Mine came out needing quite a bit of salt. Also, the cook time was over an hour. Great side for tacos -- I used the leftover sofrito as a salsa for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shak
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Its good and very tasty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This is a great recipe for Arroz con Gandules - and I have had plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
As a Puerto Rican, I'm clearly impressed! The recipe turned out wonderful and I added a few more garlic cloves than the recipe calls for. As for the spanish seasoning package, I highly recommend using Sa-son's Culantro y Achiote seasoning packets (in english- coriander and annatto seasoning), it's authentic, tasty, and easy to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This was a very easy dish to make. Came together very quickly using leftovers; I added cooked chicken to make a more filling dish. Could use some heat, but that's a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is a GREAT recipe!! I have attempted to make similar dishes in the past that did not turn out well - but this recipe is Exact, and my husband (who is Spanish and very picky) loved it!!! This was the first time I ever made Spanish rice that he actually liked. Thanks for this great recipe - I will use it often from now on : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I was looking for a truly authentic Latin rice and beans recipe that a friend used to make for potlucks years ago…and I found it here! I followed the recipe pretty closely, except I added a few crumbled strips of bacon, because I remembered my friend’s recipe had bacon in it, and I used a yellow Spanish rice instead of the brown, and chicken broth instead of water for more flavor. Even my picky eater son enjoyed this and actually had seconds! It was a perfect side dish to chicken fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I would give it an A+++ for flavor! But I think I added to much tomato sauce and it was very mushy--I was really disappointed because the flavor is so good. I would definitely try it again and add less tomato sauce and water too. The leftover sofrito made awesome beans to serve over rice by adding some tomato sauce to the sofrito and letting simmer with black beans. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This was an awesome recipe! Very authentic. Ive already made it twice. The family loves it. I served it with homemade enchiladas and refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States