Easy Arroz con Gandules Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Good but not great. Not sure if I will make it again; my family did not care for it. I was not bothered like others by the "blandness"...it was very tasty, just felt like something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Great recipe.. I added 7 large green olives, diced, and 2 tbsp. capers. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This was fairly easy to make. I didn't realize that the soffrito part of the recipe made enough for about three batches, so now after freezing it, the next two times I make it will be very easy. I will however, add more spices next time. I thought the flavor was rather bland. Next time I will add two seasoning packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was not as good as I hoped it would be. Mine was mushy and a little bland. I won't be using this recipe again. I guess I will just have to bite the bullet and ask my boyfriends mom for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinInVegas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I cheated on this recipe and used jarred Goya Soffrito - good stuff and cuts some of the work out. I sauteed an onion with a little oil to start and substituted 8 oz. of the tomato sauce with the soffrito and used Goya Culantro y Achiote seasoning. It was excellent! It took far less than 45 minutes to cook since I have a gas stove top, though. Good thing I checked on it because it would have burned. Perfect recipe and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This was an awesome recipe! Very authentic. Ive already made it twice. The family loves it. I served it with homemade enchiladas and refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I would give it an A+++ for flavor! But I think I added to much tomato sauce and it was very mushy--I was really disappointed because the flavor is so good. I would definitely try it again and add less tomato sauce and water too. The leftover sofrito made awesome beans to serve over rice by adding some tomato sauce to the sofrito and letting simmer with black beans. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I was looking for a truly authentic Latin rice and beans recipe that a friend used to make for potlucks years ago…and I found it here! I followed the recipe pretty closely, except I added a few crumbled strips of bacon, because I remembered my friend’s recipe had bacon in it, and I used a yellow Spanish rice instead of the brown, and chicken broth instead of water for more flavor. Even my picky eater son enjoyed this and actually had seconds! It was a perfect side dish to chicken fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is a GREAT recipe!! I have attempted to make similar dishes in the past that did not turn out well - but this recipe is Exact, and my husband (who is Spanish and very picky) loved it!!! This was the first time I ever made Spanish rice that he actually liked. Thanks for this great recipe - I will use it often from now on : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This was a very easy dish to make. Came together very quickly using leftovers; I added cooked chicken to make a more filling dish. Could use some heat, but that's a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States