Easy Arroz con Gandules Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is a GREAT recipe!! I have attempted to make similar dishes in the past that did not turn out well - but this recipe is Exact, and my husband (who is Spanish and very picky) loved it!!! This was the first time I ever made Spanish rice that he actually liked. Thanks for this great recipe - I will use it often from now on : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This is a great recipe for Arroz con Gandules - and I have had plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
As a Puerto Rican, I'm clearly impressed! The recipe turned out wonderful and I added a few more garlic cloves than the recipe calls for. As for the spanish seasoning package, I highly recommend using Sa-son's Culantro y Achiote seasoning packets (in english- coriander and annatto seasoning), it's authentic, tasty, and easy to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I was looking for a truly authentic Latin rice and beans recipe that a friend used to make for potlucks years ago…and I found it here! I followed the recipe pretty closely, except I added a few crumbled strips of bacon, because I remembered my friend’s recipe had bacon in it, and I used a yellow Spanish rice instead of the brown, and chicken broth instead of water for more flavor. Even my picky eater son enjoyed this and actually had seconds! It was a perfect side dish to chicken fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This was an awesome recipe! Very authentic. Ive already made it twice. The family loves it. I served it with homemade enchiladas and refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I cheated on this recipe and used jarred Goya Soffrito - good stuff and cuts some of the work out. I sauteed an onion with a little oil to start and substituted 8 oz. of the tomato sauce with the soffrito and used Goya Culantro y Achiote seasoning. It was excellent! It took far less than 45 minutes to cook since I have a gas stove top, though. Good thing I checked on it because it would have burned. Perfect recipe and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
My neighbor makes this and it is great!! Now I don't have to beg her to make it for me...the best thing about it- to make it soo good is the pigeon peas and spiceier peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Omg Soooo good. I've tasted traditional Arroz con gandules, and this taste just like it. Will deffinitly make again. everyone in my fam loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I work at a school with a predominantly hispanic population and during a class party a student brought this in. This recipe tastes exactly like it! Although I cheated and added cooked rice at the end, stir frying it instead of letting it simmer. Saves so much time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I loved this! But how do you get that "sticky" crispy well done rice that is suppose to be stuck to the bottom of the pan?? I remember it growing up and that was the best part! Does anyone know? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States