Easy Arroz con Gandules Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
First of all Arroz con gandules is made with white rice. You can make it with brown rice but it will then not be considered by anyone to be authenthic in taste. Salt is a must. Spanish olives are usually expected. Sofrito is always made with culantro (recao) and ajies dulces. Without the culantro you will not get that authentic taste you are looking for. If you like you can add a combination of any of the following: spanish ham, salted pork fat (tozino), chorizo. Aluminum foil is not needed if you have a decent pot ( I don't know anyone who uses it). How much water depends on your pot and the type of rice you use (long grain, medium grain, etc). I use long grain and one cup of water per one cup of rice. This is what works well for my pot. The rice should not be mushy or over-cooked. I always rinse my rice to remove the extra starch before I cook it. You will be surprise what a difference that makes. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This recipe is missing one very important ingredient.. salt! Being Puerto-Rican myself, arroz con gandules without salt is unheard of. Which is probably why some of you said it came out bland. I would add a teaspoon. Also, two cans of peas is a lot, I would do just one. Extra garlic, and an extra packet of Goya's Sazon seasoning is my secret. I also use the fluid from the drained peas as part of the water (reduce water accordingly). Que rico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
As a Puerto Rican, I'm clearly impressed! The recipe turned out wonderful and I added a few more garlic cloves than the recipe calls for. As for the spanish seasoning package, I highly recommend using Sa-son's Culantro y Achiote seasoning packets (in english- coriander and annatto seasoning), it's authentic, tasty, and easy to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I cheated on this recipe and used jarred Goya Soffrito - good stuff and cuts some of the work out. I sauteed an onion with a little oil to start and substituted 8 oz. of the tomato sauce with the soffrito and used Goya Culantro y Achiote seasoning. It was excellent! It took far less than 45 minutes to cook since I have a gas stove top, though. Good thing I checked on it because it would have burned. Perfect recipe and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shak
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Its good and very tasty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Too Mushy. 6 Cups of water plus the juice of the tomato sauce and canned peas is too much fluid for this recipe. Change brown rice to white rice...Add 4 cups of white rice instead, no tomato sauce, the two cans of the pigeon peas WITH the liquid...add just enough liquid to cover the rice....cook until it starts creating craters. I add whole spanish olives to this recipe and spice it up a little more with the Goya seasonings and cumin....it always turns out delicious and perfect on the fork! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I loved this! But how do you get that "sticky" crispy well done rice that is suppose to be stuck to the bottom of the pan?? I remember it growing up and that was the best part! Does anyone know? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
Nice flavor! I had to guestimate the tomato sauce (I only had a 28 oz can) and overdid it so my rice was mushy, but it still tasted great! This is a great recipe because using homemade sofrito you don't get all the additives and msg found in Goya sofrito. I added some adobo as well. Also, cutting the sofrito recipe in half still gave me more than enough to make this dish. Tastes like the arroz con gandules I've had in Puerto Rican restaurants without all the msg! Fried plantains (platanos) were an excellent accompaniment for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I used home made soffrito and Goya Culantro y achote (spanish season packet), then the last 5 items. Use white rice and drain the liquid off of the peas. That's for those who had too much water/liquid. You made need to cut down the cooking time by 5-10 minutes. Be sure to watch your pot. Fairly good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was okay if you don't know what arroz con gandules is supposed to taste like. You must add spanish olives-3/4 Cup and capers-2 TBS, more garlic, and fry your sofrito in achiote oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunnylover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States