Easy Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This recipe was nice and easy, which was key for me because I had to bake 40 of them for an Oktoberfest. I added some cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg to the apples and sugar, and sifted some powdered sugar on top for a very professional looking presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Easy recipe, I used pears instead. I made a raisin sauce too serve over with whipped cream. Thanks for the easy fruit recipe, can never have enough ways to serve fruit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Thanks, Jess - this was very easy to make - and so good! I made it (with a couple of modifications) for an Oktoberfest dinner we hosted. I left out the raisins and drizzled honey over the top of the apples before sealing up the pastry. We served it warm with ice cream. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Very simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runningweasel69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Excellent, basic recipe. i did make a bunch of changes after reading reviews. i cut 3 small apples and 2 nectarines. sliced them all in a bowl with sugar. (whole amount) a cinimon stick. pinch of nutmag and all spice. i let it sit in the bowl after mixing for about 3 hours. all the juice ran to the bottom. i then emptied the juice into another bowl. mix up fruit with a little bit of juice and some flour. This makes the recipe not so runny. i brushed it with milk and poked some holes on the top. made 2 strudel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Excellent recipe and very easy. I added just a dash of cinnamon to the filling. Will definitely make this again. Thanks Jess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
it's in the oven and looks very nice. No oozing. To seal the puff only wet one side. I folded mine so the the puff did not overlap. They met in the center on top of the filling. Seal the edges with just water, pinch the seam across the top, run a knife and create equal slashes across the sealed pastry. I also pre cooked the apples in a skillet with just an 1/8 cup of water and a teaspoon of tapioca. You can also use corn starch or flour in place of the tapioca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Fantastically simple and very tasty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This is easy and absolutely delicious! One of the things I really loved is that since you cook the apples before placing in the pastry, you don't get that mile high pastry empty hole effect! The pastry is full of tasty apples and cinnamon. We just loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Loved this! True to it's name...EASY! Only changes: Used 3 Granny Smith apples & added a few drops of lemon juice, 1/2C of pecans (no raisins) and sugared the pastry before adding the apples. Brushed pastry after it was rolled with melted butter and then sugar. Seems like a lot of sugar but the apples I used were pretty tart and needed it. (And we aren't hugh sweet eaters.) Mine have cooked in about 12-15 min...maybe it's just my oven, but I would watch to make sure not to burn bottoms. VERY, VERY GOOD & EASY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States