Easy Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was a great addition to the mini-Oktoberfest we had for some neighbors - bratwurst, German potato salad, beer, and apple strudel. What's not to like?!!! Here is how I modified the recipe for our taste: 3 apples, 1/2C raisins, 2/3C brown sugar, 1t cinnamon, 2T Minute Tapioca. I used the puff pastry, egg, and 1/4C milk as listed, but added sliced almonds on top as others suggested. I also took the suggestion of cooking the apples, brown sugar, cinnamon, and tapioca in a sauce pan for 15 minutes on medium heat. Baking time was only 25 minutes in the oven. Three apples makes enough for 2 strudels. When they came out of the oven and cooled a little, I sprinkled them with powdered sugar. Simply delicious for dessert or breakfast. I received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I sprinkled the apples with cinnamon before rolling the pastry over. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
mine came out great. the only thing i changed was that i put a cup of chopped walnuts instead of the raisins but that's just a preference... also I made two and still had enough filling to make a third. this calls for wayyy too many apples. you'd do fine with two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Too many raisins (and I like raisins). Came out too flat. For the amount of apples one pastry sheet was not enough. Flavorwise... plain. I will suggest to make cuts on top so the apple juice will not pop out of the pastry. Will look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Quick and easy - fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
The only recommendation is, only use Granny Smith and other apples will make the bottom of the dough soggy. Great recipe, I have used it many times...the strudel will not last in the house for more than a day, I have to hide it to get a piece myself :) My family loves the strudel...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Invermere, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Very good tasting with some added cinnamon and nutmeg. I definitely had enough filling for two puffed pastry shells though. Way too much for just the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is good - I would suggest watching the oven after 25 minutes - 35 minutes is too long in my oven 4.5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I had a lot of problems with this. The apples "leaked" so much water that it leaked off the parchment to the pan and started burning. The time in the oven at that heat was so high for the pastry. How did everyone else not burn theirs? Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used Granny Smith apples, golden raisins. Imagine that it might be sweet if one used another variety of apple..... My only advice/tip would be to flip the freshly 'wrapped' streudel over so the doubled dough forms the bottom and the single layer becomes the top. I made vent slices in the top and sprinkled with coarse sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States