Easy Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Thank you so much for this dleicious and EASY recipe! And thanks, also, to all who reviewed and gave such great suggestions! Per other reviewers, I planned ahead of time to make two, which was great as that's how many puff pastries come in a PF box. :) I also used half the brown sugar and added 1 t. vietnamese cinnamon, 2 T instant tapioca, and 1 t. good vanilla to the apples. The cinnamon is pretty strong and I didn't want to overdo it, but next time I'll add 1 1/2 t, maybe even two! I met the two halves of pastry dough in the middle (on top) and it worked out really well. I recommend doing it that way. With the tapioca I had no leakage at all. My apples were getting a bit soft, so I didn't pre-cook them, but it came out perfectly. Oh- and I forgot some were supposed to be grated, but it made no difference as far as I know. I did cut 3 or 4 slits in the top to vent. I also topped it with cinnamon and sugar, which I won't try next time as the high heat of the oven burned the sugar a bit. Totally my fault. I can see gow a glaze would be delish on thses. I will make these again and again- so glad you posted this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
10 stars for easy, 3 stars for taste. Easy to make but strongly agree w/other reviews--you must add cinnamon, nutmeg, etc. or the taste will be bland. After living in Germany for a spell, I missed the substantive, rich apple filling. I forgot to do it this time, but next time I will add vanilla flavoring. I also missed the buttery taste. I could have infused it by adding a little flour to my butter/sugar sauce in my sauteed apple mixture to thicken it up. (To avoid excessive juice, I strained my sauteed the mixture of apples, raisins, chopped apricots (b/c I didn't have enough raisins) in a 1/2 tsp of butter & the sugar... I really didn't need the butter b/c the juice from the apples developed.) I don't like Granny Smiths but they are perfect for this recipe. I folded dough to overlap. Overall, VERY easy to make. I used confectioner's sugar instead of almonds to dress it up & added a few chopped walnuts to the apple filling. I'd make it again but add vanilla flavoring & season the dough more. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Very, very nice. I personally would add a little less cinnamon and sugar. Still very nice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJENNER273

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Did not find this easy to make at all. I bake and follow recipes with ease. I found there was too much filling for the pastry - eventhough I rolled it larger than it came. Used Pepperidge Farm pastry sheets - maybe the wrong brand. This was for a school project for my son- luckily he gets graded on the effort - not the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I'm not much of a baker (especially pies and other things that use a crust) but I loved this recipe. I used puff pastry for the first time and found it very forgiving. I added a little cinnamon and three pats of butter on the top of the apple mixture. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
love this! added a little vanilla & cinnamon to the apples, a bit of lemon juice to prevent browning & used brown sugar splenda. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rainess Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Spiked it with a tablespoon of whiskey, omitted the raisins and used a handful of fresh blueberries instead. Also, I omitted the egg/milk wash. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaori Thier

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I have done this recipe a few times and always with good results, I change nothing about the recipe. I did have some left over filling, so I think it depends on the size of your apples. I used my own puff pastry and next time will either use larger sheet or less apples and raisins to accommodate the puff pastry sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Very simple to make and everyone enjoyed it. There was way to much filling for the amount of pastry crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was a tasty recipe, but not real easy to work with....at least not easy to keep it looking nice, neat and pretty. Be very careful not to "overfill" if you are concerned about how it will look. Still tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States