Easy Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
it's in the oven and looks very nice. No oozing. To seal the puff only wet one side. I folded mine so the the puff did not overlap. They met in the center on top of the filling. Seal the edges with just water, pinch the seam across the top, run a knife and create equal slashes across the sealed pastry. I also pre cooked the apples in a skillet with just an 1/8 cup of water and a teaspoon of tapioca. You can also use corn starch or flour in place of the tapioca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Very simple and easy recipe. I did change up the recipe a little. Like most reviewers I added a tsp of cinnamom, and used 5 small apples. I reduced sugar to 6 tbsp, and 1 tsp of lemon juice to keep the apples from browning and added a small handful of walnut pieces just before adding to the puff pastery. I let the apples, sugar and lemon juice sit for about 2 hours and then added 1 1/2 tbsp of flour to soak up the juices from the bottom of the bowl. Very yummy my husband couldn't wait to get into it and once he did I had a hard time from keeping him from going for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Fantastically simple and very tasty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Very simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runningweasel69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was definitely easy, once the apples were peeled and sliced. However, it seems that most of the sweet juice ran out of the pockets, leaving the remaining strudel to be kind of dry and pasty. Maybe I didn't seal up the pastry well enough? It was definitely better warm and fresh vs leftover. I don't know if I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
We like to make this for an apple dessert that's a ton quicker than apple pie. Really easy! However, I prefer to cook the apple filling in a saute pan on top of the stove till slightly softened before putting in the pastry to end up with a more done result without overbrowning the pastry. And definitely add some cinnamon to the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Loved this! True to it's name...EASY! Only changes: Used 3 Granny Smith apples & added a few drops of lemon juice, 1/2C of pecans (no raisins) and sugared the pastry before adding the apples. Brushed pastry after it was rolled with melted butter and then sugar. Seems like a lot of sugar but the apples I used were pretty tart and needed it. (And we aren't hugh sweet eaters.) Mine have cooked in about 12-15 min...maybe it's just my oven, but I would watch to make sure not to burn bottoms. VERY, VERY GOOD & EASY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
really easy and delicious! i added a dash of cinnamon too. also, replaced the one cup brown sugar with 2 tbsp of it. it's not so sweet. will try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Excellent, basic recipe. i did make a bunch of changes after reading reviews. i cut 3 small apples and 2 nectarines. sliced them all in a bowl with sugar. (whole amount) a cinimon stick. pinch of nutmag and all spice. i let it sit in the bowl after mixing for about 3 hours. all the juice ran to the bottom. i then emptied the juice into another bowl. mix up fruit with a little bit of juice and some flour. This makes the recipe not so runny. i brushed it with milk and poked some holes on the top. made 2 strudel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Very EZ to put together and lots of compliments. Guests said "Better than apple pie!" Served warm with vanilla ice cream. Only used 1/3 cup sugar (subbed a couple delicious apples in place of granny smith) and added a sprinkle of cinnamon and a little melted butter. Only used 1/4 cup regular raisins. Can't imagine using a full cup of sugar AND that many raisins - would've been way too sweet. Also didn't want to waste an egg for the wash so I just sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar on top after baking. Made a few slashes on top to vent before baking and covered my cookie sheet with no-stick foil. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States