Easy Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I am English so I used Bramley cooking apples with a sprinkling of sugar and cinamon as they are sharp. They are also more juicy and produced more liquid, but it turned out fine. The bottom of the pastry sort of caramalised. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This is easy and absolutely delicious! One of the things I really loved is that since you cook the apples before placing in the pastry, you don't get that mile high pastry empty hole effect! The pastry is full of tasty apples and cinnamon. We just loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
The base recipe is a good idea but it needs tweaking. I added cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, vanilla extract, and walnuts. I also used phyllo dough sheets instead of puff pastry (personal preference), but I imagine it would also taste delicious with puff pastry. I drizzled slices of strudel with maple syrup as a final touch. Took this to a party and I got rave reviews, so will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
it's in the oven and looks very nice. No oozing. To seal the puff only wet one side. I folded mine so the the puff did not overlap. They met in the center on top of the filling. Seal the edges with just water, pinch the seam across the top, run a knife and create equal slashes across the sealed pastry. I also pre cooked the apples in a skillet with just an 1/8 cup of water and a teaspoon of tapioca. You can also use corn starch or flour in place of the tapioca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Very simple and easy recipe. I did change up the recipe a little. Like most reviewers I added a tsp of cinnamom, and used 5 small apples. I reduced sugar to 6 tbsp, and 1 tsp of lemon juice to keep the apples from browning and added a small handful of walnut pieces just before adding to the puff pastery. I let the apples, sugar and lemon juice sit for about 2 hours and then added 1 1/2 tbsp of flour to soak up the juices from the bottom of the bowl. Very yummy my husband couldn't wait to get into it and once he did I had a hard time from keeping him from going for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Fantastically simple and very tasty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Very simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runningweasel69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was definitely easy, once the apples were peeled and sliced. However, it seems that most of the sweet juice ran out of the pockets, leaving the remaining strudel to be kind of dry and pasty. Maybe I didn't seal up the pastry well enough? It was definitely better warm and fresh vs leftover. I don't know if I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
We like to make this for an apple dessert that's a ton quicker than apple pie. Really easy! However, I prefer to cook the apple filling in a saute pan on top of the stove till slightly softened before putting in the pastry to end up with a more done result without overbrowning the pastry. And definitely add some cinnamon to the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Loved this! True to it's name...EASY! Only changes: Used 3 Granny Smith apples & added a few drops of lemon juice, 1/2C of pecans (no raisins) and sugared the pastry before adding the apples. Brushed pastry after it was rolled with melted butter and then sugar. Seems like a lot of sugar but the apples I used were pretty tart and needed it. (And we aren't hugh sweet eaters.) Mine have cooked in about 12-15 min...maybe it's just my oven, but I would watch to make sure not to burn bottoms. VERY, VERY GOOD & EASY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States