Easy Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I really liked this recipe, except I think my homegrown Granny Smith apples were a little sweeter than the ones the recipe creator used. I cut the sugar down with the second one I made. I also added a little flour because they were really juicy. Co-workers ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookandBakeGirl
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This is so good! The only problem is that there's enough of the apple mixture to make two strudels. So plan to make half of the apple mixture or to get to sheets of puff pastry. DE-LISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookandBakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Imperial, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was totally easy and turned out great. For some reason my apples were really runny. Sugary apple juice ran out of the tart and all over the baking sheet. The pastry held up and didn't go soggy. This tasted really good with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Excellent recipe and very easy to make! For richer flavour use demerara sugar for the apple mixture and add a splash of dark rum to the apple mixture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Delicious! Served (w/van. ice cream) as part of an entire German themed meal to my book club and they raved. Wished I would have rolled the strudel over before cooking so that the crease would have been on the bottom (would have looked better) added toasted walnuts & pecans which gave the filling an added crunch. Filling was enough for two-which works out great since a box of puff pastry has 2 sheets. Once you've opened the box you might as well use both- I've tried freezing 1/2 used boxes...not so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Thank you so much for this dleicious and EASY recipe! And thanks, also, to all who reviewed and gave such great suggestions! Per other reviewers, I planned ahead of time to make two, which was great as that's how many puff pastries come in a PF box. :) I also used half the brown sugar and added 1 t. vietnamese cinnamon, 2 T instant tapioca, and 1 t. good vanilla to the apples. The cinnamon is pretty strong and I didn't want to overdo it, but next time I'll add 1 1/2 t, maybe even two! I met the two halves of pastry dough in the middle (on top) and it worked out really well. I recommend doing it that way. With the tapioca I had no leakage at all. My apples were getting a bit soft, so I didn't pre-cook them, but it came out perfectly. Oh- and I forgot some were supposed to be grated, but it made no difference as far as I know. I did cut 3 or 4 slits in the top to vent. I also topped it with cinnamon and sugar, which I won't try next time as the high heat of the oven burned the sugar a bit. Totally my fault. I can see gow a glaze would be delish on thses. I will make these again and again- so glad you posted this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
10 stars for easy, 3 stars for taste. Easy to make but strongly agree w/other reviews--you must add cinnamon, nutmeg, etc. or the taste will be bland. After living in Germany for a spell, I missed the substantive, rich apple filling. I forgot to do it this time, but next time I will add vanilla flavoring. I also missed the buttery taste. I could have infused it by adding a little flour to my butter/sugar sauce in my sauteed apple mixture to thicken it up. (To avoid excessive juice, I strained my sauteed the mixture of apples, raisins, chopped apricots (b/c I didn't have enough raisins) in a 1/2 tsp of butter & the sugar... I really didn't need the butter b/c the juice from the apples developed.) I don't like Granny Smiths but they are perfect for this recipe. I folded dough to overlap. Overall, VERY easy to make. I used confectioner's sugar instead of almonds to dress it up & added a few chopped walnuts to the apple filling. I'd make it again but add vanilla flavoring & season the dough more. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Very, very nice. I personally would add a little less cinnamon and sugar. Still very nice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJENNER273

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Did not find this easy to make at all. I bake and follow recipes with ease. I found there was too much filling for the pastry - eventhough I rolled it larger than it came. Used Pepperidge Farm pastry sheets - maybe the wrong brand. This was for a school project for my son- luckily he gets graded on the effort - not the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I'm not much of a baker (especially pies and other things that use a crust) but I loved this recipe. I used puff pastry for the first time and found it very forgiving. I added a little cinnamon and three pats of butter on the top of the apple mixture. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States