Easy Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
The first thing I noticed about this recipe was the absence of butter and cinnamon. I knew this recipe had no seasoning, but, I made it exactly as written anyway.....and I'm sorry I did. It was sooo bland and tasteless, not flaky at all. Can't say I was surprised. I tossed the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
when you add sugar to fruit, after a short time it releases its juices. I would have suggested a change in order: preheat oven, prepare apples, roll dough, make egg/milk wash, add sugar to apples, add apples to dough, secure the dough and pinch it closed then egg wash it and pop in oven. I must have used larger apples because I had enough apple/sugar/raisin mix for second sheet of pastry. My cooking time was half which is consistent with suggested cooking time on the puff pastry box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
So delish! I made the apple filling 2 days before my moms 85th bday party and refridgerated it. I think this cut down on the extra liquid reviewers were talking about and it minimized the sticking and burning of the cookie sheet. I did add raisins, a pinch of nutmeg, a pinch of cinnamon and some lemon juice and cooked it on low for about an hour. All we had to do on the day of the party was put the filling in the dough, roll it up like a swiss roll, stretch it to each end of the pan and pinch the ends TIGHT. We didn't vent it because the pastry sheet ended so we put that on the upside, brushed it with melted butter and had literally no spillage or sticking. There were 2 pastry sheets in the pkg and since we had extra filling left over, we made two. They were kind of short and stubby so we stretched them to each end of the pan. At 400 degrees, instead of taking 40 minutes, they were golden brown around 33 minutes so I turned off the oven and let them sit a few more minutes before removing and didn't cut them until they cooled down so each piece came out perfect. We cut about 20 pieces and everyone loved it. My mom is 100% German and she couldn't believe how easy the pastry sheets were to work with and she was even more surprised that it tasted like authentic Streudel. I forgot to sprinkle powedered sugar on it but it was beautiful anyway! Will definitely make this again and againg and again. Enjoy y'all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I was skeptical at the beginning because there was no thickener for the apples (and they produce a lot of juice). Filling ran out of pastry and all over oven. This also caused pastry to be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Added Chinese Five Spice for a Kick!! Great Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Used cinnamon and nutmeg like other reviewers, omitted the raisins. Next time I would drain the moisture off the apples before filling the puff pastry and line the baking sheet with aluminum foil (in addition to using parchment paper) for easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. My husband loved it! It was the kind of recipe that was perfect, not too difficult or complicated. Simple wholesome ingredients, and when finished it looked beautiful. It's the kind of recipe I could take to potlucks or make for special occasions and no one would know it was so easy. I added a couple ingredients to it to give it more flavor. I added a tsp of real vanilla extract and a medium dash of cinnamon, and a couple squirts of lemon juice to the apple mixture. I also omitted the raisins and used fuji apples instead to give it more natural sweetness so I could use only 3/4 cup of sugar. Also I listened to another rating who brushed melted butter on the pastry after rolling it out. And sprinkled sliced almonds and raw sugar on the top before baking. Overall awsome recipe, and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Pretty and Easy. Had fun making this with a friend. Omitted the raisins no problem. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Filling: Apples, cinnamon sugar (2 tblsps), flour (1 tablespn)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
It was good but not great. I needed something quick to put in the oven and this was it. Simple, so simple you can basically put anything in it that you have on hand. As long as you follow the basic principle of baking time and ratios. I would of preferred apple and cheese over apple and raisins. Kids liked it, they were real happy about how fast they had an unplanned dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Gagnon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierrefonds, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Alexandria, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States