Easy Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Yes it is easy but it also leaves alot to be desired. I think the amount of filling called for is too much. Puff pastry is suppose to be light and crisp and this is heavy and soggy. Not sure if decreasing the filling would help or if it simply just doesn't work well for this type of dessert. I also thought the pastry needed something more so I made a vanilla glaze and drizzled on top. Leftovers did not keep well either. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I've made this recipe many times and find it virtually foolproof as well as delicious. I generally use Gala or Fuji apples, sliced very thin, golden raisins, and slivered or sliced blanched almonds. Haven't yet tried "craisins" but I bet they would be good. I've tried using pears but they were a little bland and peaches were much too juicy. This strudel makes a great brunch side dish or a dessert treat with ice cream. And one more thing, be sure to watch it closely that last 10 minutes so it doesn't scorch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Good, cook longer than you expect to, by about 5 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This didn't work out well for me. The directions are not clear in terms of rolling this up and did not go easily. Second, after baking for 35 minutes this was indeed golden brown and flaky on the inside, but still somewhat doughy on the inside. Not to my liking or standards at all. It has potential however - I think it would be much easier and efficient to roll the pastry sheet into a rectangle, spread the fillling along the middle third (the long way) and then fold in the two sides. This would seem to be much more user-friendly than trying to roll up pastry with a can of pie filling in it and would probably bake more evenly as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
this was nearly impossible to roll up, it was a big sticky mess. Other than that, it was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Made this for my German teacher who was from Austria and she loved this and had to know how I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistythayer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving using my own apple pie filling. I too sprinkled with sugar after brushing with egg. This has a beautiful finished presentation that surprises everyone that it is "homemade".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
So quick and SO EASY! Turned out beautifully golden brown, with just the right amount of crispiness to the layered pastry. Didn't have the apples to make homemade filling (and too much sugar in pie filling for us!), so I made some low-sugar black cherry preserves and used that for filling instead. I've never baked with puff pastry before, but I can't wait to try a savory recipe with the remaining pastry package in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States