Easy Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Well, it just doesn't get much easier than this when it comes to desserts - or much tastier! With so few ingredients you really can't go wrong with this one... I made this even easier by using Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry Shells vs. the sheets so you can scoop out the inside that makes it so "doughy". (Just follow the directions on the box) I added some raisins to the apple pie filling and after brushing on the egg wash I sprinkled a little turbinado sugar over top for a little "crunch". Granted there's nothing like homemade, but this is a great ending to any meal without a lot of effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This didn't work out well for me. The directions are not clear in terms of rolling this up and did not go easily. Second, after baking for 35 minutes this was indeed golden brown and flaky on the inside, but still somewhat doughy on the inside. Not to my liking or standards at all. It has potential however - I think it would be much easier and efficient to roll the pastry sheet into a rectangle, spread the fillling along the middle third (the long way) and then fold in the two sides. This would seem to be much more user-friendly than trying to roll up pastry with a can of pie filling in it and would probably bake more evenly as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
You couldn't get easier than this! This recipe is so simple, quick to prepare and is always a success! I have made it as stated and also into individual triangle using the small squares and using the egg-wash to seal the sides down and then pressing the tongs of a fork along the edges to make a nice finished look. I have also used blueberry pie filling. I sprinkled the top with cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I really liked how easy this is. I did add some cinnamon to the pie filling for extra flavor. The ends were a little doughy on the inside, but not too bad. I also thought there was too much filling, so I think 1/2 of a can would be perfect. Overall, I would make this again with some slight changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
OH MY GOSH! This was so easy and so delicious! Our German exchange student thought it was authentic and asked for seconds! My entire family of nine loved it! Thank you so much from one busy mom to another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdgengler

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was very easy and very good. I may not put in raisins next time, but thought everything else made the recipe delicious. I sprinkled with coarse sugar before baking and after putting on the egg was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving using my own apple pie filling. I too sprinkled with sugar after brushing with egg. This has a beautiful finished presentation that surprises everyone that it is "homemade".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I've made this recipe many times and find it virtually foolproof as well as delicious. I generally use Gala or Fuji apples, sliced very thin, golden raisins, and slivered or sliced blanched almonds. Haven't yet tried "craisins" but I bet they would be good. I've tried using pears but they were a little bland and peaches were much too juicy. This strudel makes a great brunch side dish or a dessert treat with ice cream. And one more thing, be sure to watch it closely that last 10 minutes so it doesn't scorch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I had some homemade apple pie filling that I really wanted to use up and decided this would be the easiest recipe to do so. I did make my own puff pastry as well. But for only a few ingredients the end result is wow! I couldn't believe how much I enjoyed this. I was literally "mmm-ing" while eating it. I did sprinkle some cinnamon over the top before baking. Thanks for such a quick and easy recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was really yummy. I made my own apple filling with two Gala apples, a little butter, some brown sugar and vanilla. It made for a caramel tasting apple filling. Then I decided to mix up about a half cup cream cheese with powdered sugar. First I layered on the cream cheese mixture and then I put the apple filling on top. Wow...so good. The Pepperidge Farm pastry puffs up so nicely, it really looks classy, too. GREAT recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States