Easy Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jean
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I doubled the apples and used about one third less sugar. I used a vanilla cake mix and put in two nine inch pie pans. Baked for forty minutes. Held together after cooling. Was able to slice and remove like pie. Used honey gold apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aad
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I added rolled oats and some granola cereal to the yellow cake I had since it was a small mix. Adjusted cinnamon, all spice, and nutmeg as we like. Used wild larger crab apples so added more brown sugar. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
It was awesome. I added some granola
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I use apple juice or apple cider instead of water gives MUCH more flavor and use an additional tsp of apple pie spice along with the cinnamon...woo hoo ! easy and soooooooooo good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mandy Talley
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I made this with blackberries. Only used about 3/4 cup of water and baked 45 minutes. We all loved it! I didn't know if it would be crispy with no oats but it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I tried this recipe with fresh cherries and apples, then used a box spice cake plus chopped pecans. Amazing!!! Especially topped with coffee ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanette Lamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I love this recipe. I actually add oatmeal to the crumb topping and I use 12 apples-6 green 6 red. I serve it at all my family gatherings. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Caughey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Super easy to make and not that expensive. It has a great flavor but isn't overly sweet. Perfect with ice cream as well. We did 50 minutes and the timing was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I needed a quick & easy apple crisp recipe for Mother's Day. This looked like it would work for me since I'm not really skilled in the kitchen. I actually forgot to peel the apples, yet no one noticed! How can you go wrong with butter & brown sugar?! It was so divine that I couldn't believe I made it. I altered the recipe by adding nutmeg, a few drops of vanilla extract, a cup of steel cut quick cook oats & a little more butter. The oats gave it a thicker crumble. I topped off each serving with vanilla bean ice cream & everyone loved it. I made two 8x8 pans - one to leave with mom & one to take home. Brilliant idea! I'm having some for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a great recipe. So simple, but oh so good. Can also be made gluten-free by using gluten-free cake mix instead of regular. Tastes just as good! -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States