Easy Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I loved this and how easy it was. I halfed the recipe just so I didn't eat too much, used spice cake (like one of the other reviews mentioned), put 2 tablespoons brown sugar directly on the apples, cut the water some and added grape-nuts cereal and oatmeal for extra crunch. LOVE LOVE LOVE...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Excellent! Followed a few suggestions: used the spiced cake mix w 2 pkgs of plain breakfast oatmeal, apple cider instead of water dash of nutmeg. Added the 4 TBL of caramel sauce too. Nice crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Great recipe. very easy to make. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Now I know why New Englanders need cheddar cheese with their apple pie and crisp. This was SOOO sweet. Next time I'll put in only 1/4 cup of brown sugar, especially since the cake mix already has sugar in it. I also added 1/2 cup of oats and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Laughlin Sumner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Wow, I am definately keeping a white cake mix as a staple in my pantry. This was so easy & VERY tasty. I took the advise of a few reviewers and added some lemon juice, allspice, nutmeg & cinnamon to the apples. I also added 3/4 cup oatmeal to the cake mix before adding butter. Even my husband, the apple crisp King loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
So easy to make and so yummy!!!! Will make again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
DELICIOUS! First note: To make life easier, buy an inexpensive apple corer/slicer. It makes the process so much quicker! I altered this recipe after reading other reviews. Instead of a white cake mix, I used a butter yellow mix. I used almost double the amount of apples (10) which requires using a second dish. Before placing them in the dish, I tossed the apple slices in nutmeg and cinnnamon with a little bit of lemon juice. I used 3/4 Cup water with a teaspoon of vanilla mixed in. I reduced the amount of butter to 6 Tbs. and I reduced the brown sugar to 3/4 Cup. Like many other reviewers, I added 3/4 Cup rolled oats to the mixture. I imagine this would also taste good with pecans or chopped walnuts mixed in, which I will try the next time I make this. It is fabulous when you serve it warm with a scoop of vailla ice cream. Even my Mom, who is an "Apple Crisp Aficionado", loved this dessert. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
My whole family absolutely loved it!! Was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracie Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I was looking for an easy apple dessert recipe and I have found it here! Truly very simple and absolutely heavenly. I didn't have a white cake mix on hand but I did happen to have a butter pecan cake mix in the pantry so I used it. If you are planning on making this, try the butter pecan sometime. Crazy good! With vanilla frozen yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was perfect. I followed the advice of other reviewers and added oatmeal to the topping. Easiest baking I have ever done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States