Easy Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This has to be the best apple dessert I have ever made! I made some slight changes because of personal taste...I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup based on prior reviews and that was borderline to sweet for me but hey it is a dessert after-all. I took 1/4 cup of the brown sugar listed and tossed that in with the apples, water, a little vanilla, a little extra cinnamon, nutmeg and then topped it with the cake mix mixed with the remainder 1/4 cup of sugar and cinnamon mixed along with the butter and 3/4 cup of cinnamon ( unsweetened) oats. I had to bake mine quite a bit longer ( 30 extra minutes) until it turned golden brown but it was well worth it! It DOES look soupy when it comes out but thickens upon standing. I have used white, yellow and funfetti ( looked weird tasted great) cake mixes and they were all good. Next up I am going to try Spice Cake Mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
By far the easiest crisp recipe I have used. I did tweak it just a bit though. I used more apples (enough to fill the 9x13 pan, and I had smaller apples), apple cider instead of water because I had it on hand, threw in a bag of baking caramel bits, and added some oatmeal to the topping. Super delicious, this will be my go-to recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camp0433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is the easiest most tasty apple crisp I've ever made! I did add a cup of oats to the cake mix as some of the other reviewers suggested. I can't imagine making any other apple crisp again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I found this recipe on pinterest as a raw apple dump cake. Only had yellow cake mix and 3 apples, but did use a half bag frozen fresh cranberries (1-1/2 cups?) Did not use water, as original recipe did not call for it, and the fruit was plenty juicy when it came out of the oven. I did love this, but really prefer my fruit crisps with an oatmeal crumble topping, hence the "crisp". Will make this again this fall, and use the cranberries again as it was a pretty and tasty result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly as written and found it to be super easy to make and delicious!! The sweetness/tartness can be determined by the types of apples you use... I used 3 granny smith apples and 2 mcintosh apples. I might add 1/2 C of oats the next time but that would be a personal preference so as to add even more to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Phenomenal. I used 12 granny smith apples, 3/4 cup packed brown sugar and 3/4 cup old fashioned oats in the mixture. This came out super. Baked for 50 minutes. Will definitely be making again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
wow is all i can say about this one. definitely do yourself a favor and add oats to your dry mixture. you will not regret it! i added around a cup or so. i also did a little under a cup of brown sugar and it was perfect. and, i also added cinnamon to my apples and a pinch of sugar. i don't usually write reviews on recipes, but this one definitely deserves it! everyone you serve it to will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
So good it should be illegal...I just burned my mouth tasting my first batch and it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This is always a hit with any crowd for a quick and easy dessert you can't go wrong. Soooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baketilheartscontent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I liked this but it was too sweet. I made it again using only 1/2 cup of water and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Baked it for 40 mins at 350. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States