Easy Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This is close to the recipe I love using with my 1st grade students. Every September, we culminate our week of apple learning by making Apple Crisp. The white cake mix is a delicious, easy replacement of the typical flour, but you HAVE to include oats! Here's the recipe I use: 6 apples, 1/2 melted butter, 1 cup white cake mix, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup oats, 1 Tbsp. cinnamon. Same directions as above, but omit the water altogether. Tried & true with 6 year olds for many years. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Used 1T cinnamon, 2T apple vinegar mixed into the water, 1 ½ c oats: sprinkled ½ of cinnamon on apples and put rest into dry mix. Reserved 1 c of dry mix and used it on 4 apples (with ½ c water in a glass casserole dish in same oven)…wonderful. Sweet and I think next time I will just do the baked apples and skip the rest. Great way to use up a lot of apples at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This came out great! I made it as directed, although I considered reducing the water. In the future, I could see doing that to allow the apples to keep a little more crisp, but my whole family loved the apples mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Super easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
The first few bites were tasty, then all I could concentrate on was the cake mix taste. I feel like there should've been more butter for the topping because it was quite powder-y. I'll try a more traditional crisp recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I have made this for my boyfriend, family, and also for friends. They have all LOVED it! It's so easy to make, and so uncostly. I added more cinnamon because I LOVE the flavor. I also topped with vanilla ice cream-- I think doing that adds so much more. Warm + cold in your mouth, it's delicious. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was so easy and so delicious! I like that you don't mix sugar in with the apples. The topping makes it sweet but not overly sweet. I will make this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Made it for the office and my colleagues loved it. Only thing is 1 cup of water is way too much, trust me 1/4 cup would have been more than enough, was way too watery and ended up pouring some liquid out (too runny). Other than that it was a great crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very good recipe. We used the canned apples (because we had them). So really I just used the recipe for the crisp on top. It turned out really goo. My family loved it. Very rich topping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suchislife32

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Actually, I was mostly looking for a recipe for the crumbly topping the use with my mom's home canned spiced pears. This recipe worked great! I served it hot, ala mode, with caramel topping. This recipe offered the crunch I was looking for; Perfecto!! Mom was very happy she loved it! especially since I used her special reserves, and added all her favorite flavors. huasonshine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States