Easy Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
very tasty and easy to make. I used a spice cake and it was delicious even my young son loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissi Tucker Kuligowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I have to admit, I didn't think this would work out because the apples just had water on them, and usually when I make an apple pie, I mix the sugar and spices in with the apples. But magically, the apples were sweet and spiced. The topping was pretty sweet, so I may use a touch less sugar next time, but my boyfriend absolutely loved it as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This tastes good and is so easy. I took others suggestions and doubled the apples, used a larger pan, added 1/2 cup old fashioned oats, only 3/4 cup brown sugar and pulsed everything but the apples in my food processor. My top was crunchy(no broiler). Thanks.. will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsarnp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Dodge City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I make this all the time. It is requested at all get-togethers that I attend. I have done different things with it such as adding rhubarb to the apples and oats to the topping. Once I had the apples prepared and went to the cupboard for the cake mix and found that I only had banana nut flavored cake mix, so I used that and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was an excellent recipe. Easy to make, the right texture and balance of apples and crisp. I added a touch more butter than what was called for only because I needed to finish the cube. This will become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Make sure you add 1/2cup of oatmeal to the cake mixture to cut down on the sweetness, or it will be way to sweet. I also cooked it 45-50 mins. This makes a nice big tray to bring along with you to get togethers. Easiest desert to make, topped with some cool whip because ice cream was to frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Schmitt Monahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mastic, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Easy and great tasting. I varied by using about 9 apples; 3/4 cup of apple juice; yellow butter cake mix; a little nutmeg and I substituted splenda brown sugar equal to 1/2+ cup of brown sugar. I also used about 1/2 cup of uncooked oats. I mixed in about 1/3 of the mix in the pan with the apples and then used the rest for the top. Baked for 45 minutes. It looked done, but the top was not crispy, so I browned under the broiler (watch that it doesn't burn) for about 90-120 seconds. I am certain variations will taste just as good. Next time maybe some cut up strawberries or craisins or chopped walnuts - whatever is around. Great for the family or company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Wow, yummy! I had Granny Smith apples so I used the full amount liquid (they tend to need more because they're so firm) - but at the suggestion of other reviews, I did exchange the water for spiced apple cider. I also cut the brown sugar in half as suggested and added about a 1/2 cup of oatmeal to the topping for texture. Unfortunately I had no vanilla ice cream on hand, but that would have made this divine dessert absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCrowston

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
So easy and so yummy! Served it warm with vanilla ice cream -- big hit with everyone! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States