Easy Apple Crisp with Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sarahncmount
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I really liked this recipe and i would recommend this, with a few tweaks. I chopped about 1 cup of pecans in the food processor and mixed it into the crisp mix. I also would omit the water and lemon juice because it tends to make it watery on the bottom, because the apples make their own juice, especially with the honey. Along with the cinnamon, i also sprinkled 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and allspice to spice things up a little bit. Served hot with ice cream, this is one rockin' dessert. Think i'll get me another scoop while i am thinking about it.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahncmount

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brevard, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This was extremly yummy! For the people who say it was gooey and sticky my advice is that when you mix the flour etc to create the texture of breadcrumbs, make sure you've washed your hands in cold water so the butter does not melt when you are mixing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was pretty good. I really liked the crunch of oats, so I'd add more next time. It also needed more cinnamon, so I upped to a tablespoon. For a recipe with no sugar added, this was a little too sweet for me, so I'd cut down on the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
My husband really liked this even though I thought it was just a little too sweet. Next time I'll try adding walnuts to the topping. It seemed runny at first, but after cooling off it thickened a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This was very good. I loved the honey, but I used just 1/4 cup of honey and it was plenty sweet. The topping was a little dry so I would add a little more butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Very Good! The only change I made was to add nutmeg to the apples. I will def. make again the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I thought this was very good, but I think it would have just as good w/out the honey. Also I had to add more butter to the crumbly top before baking as it wasn't crumbly enuff. For an extra treat, I put craisins on the top before I baked it! Thank you for the fast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
This was good, I really like the flavor of the honey. Next time I might double the crust, but that is my only suggestion! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
best apple crisp recipe I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
As a beekeeper I'm always looking for recipes that use honey. This one is great! It is easy to make and everyone has raved about it. I mixed a bunch of different types of apples together since I had a few left over from our last apple-orchard visit. Serve warm with a scoop of ice cream and you've got a winning dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States