Easy Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
The use of the pie filling is a good idea and makes for quick preparation. I modified the topping a little by using 3/4 cup flour and 1 1/4 cup oats. I also used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup walnuts. Serve warm with ice cream, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Marshall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Still a great recipe, although I used less flour and I always add more spice. I NEVER use margarine, but I used fresh butter instead. I have been meaning to pick up fresh apples for days and I never did and I really wanted to bake apple crisp, so I used a can of sliced apples I already had. Tastes fantastic topped with cinnamon, whipping cream and caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Easy to make and double
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I used Jen Marshals suggestions made in Sept. 05. It was the best apple crisp I have had. I used the apple pie filling, the spices and procedure that this recipe had and the rest I used her directions. If you want a good easy dessert this is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
The crumble topping for this is excellent. I decided not to cheat with the filling. I used 4 fresh sliced Granny Smith apples, teaspoon of cinnamon & all spice, teaspoon brown sugar and a couple of cap fulls of dark rum. Was perfectly cooked after 45mins. Very yummy served with vanilla ice-cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I'm not an experienced baker, and I didn't know butter should be cold and firm. I let it soften and batter came out creamy and doughy instead of crumbly. Next time should be much better. The flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kg2943

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
The topping for this was disgusting. I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out all gummy and tasteless. I even cooked it for about 20 extra minutes for a total of 40, and the top still didn't really brown right. To much flour, not enough butter and sugar? I'll go back to my oatmeal topping thanks. I gave it two stars only because I hadn't thought of using pie filling for apple crisp before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casserole Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Don't waste your pie filling. The 2 cups of flour made a gummy topping with no absolutely no flavor. There was nothing "crisp" about this recipe. Stick with a good oatmeal/brown sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
The topping was really yucky!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
very easy to make, although the topping was a bit heavy, next time I will use less margarine, I also added chopped nuts to the topping which was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States