Easy Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Easy to make and double
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
very easy to make, although the topping was a bit heavy, next time I will use less margarine, I also added chopped nuts to the topping which was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
The crumble topping for this is excellent. I decided not to cheat with the filling. I used 4 fresh sliced Granny Smith apples, teaspoon of cinnamon & all spice, teaspoon brown sugar and a couple of cap fulls of dark rum. Was perfectly cooked after 45mins. Very yummy served with vanilla ice-cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This was ok, I had to cook it longer as the top didn't seem to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Don't waste your pie filling. The 2 cups of flour made a gummy topping with no absolutely no flavor. There was nothing "crisp" about this recipe. Stick with a good oatmeal/brown sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
The topping was really yucky!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
The use of the pie filling is a good idea and makes for quick preparation. I modified the topping a little by using 3/4 cup flour and 1 1/4 cup oats. I also used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup walnuts. Serve warm with ice cream, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Marshall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
The topping for this was disgusting. I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out all gummy and tasteless. I even cooked it for about 20 extra minutes for a total of 40, and the top still didn't really brown right. To much flour, not enough butter and sugar? I'll go back to my oatmeal topping thanks. I gave it two stars only because I hadn't thought of using pie filling for apple crisp before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casserole Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This recipe is mushy and tasteless. There is wayyyyyy too much flour in the topping and it does not "crisp" like you expect that an apple crisp recipe should. I'm not sure if the topping should just have less flour and more sugar or if a different topping would work with the canned pie filling, but I'm guessing your best bet is to go the old fashioned way and use fresh apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is good. Reduce the flour by half added an extra can of apples and cooked a bit longer. The topping is more like a pie crust. I actually renamed to fit its look and taste when I introduced it to my family for the first time, "Apple Pie Bake" After all its more like an apple pie with out the round dish and the bottom pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States