Easy Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
The topping for this was disgusting. I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out all gummy and tasteless. I even cooked it for about 20 extra minutes for a total of 40, and the top still didn't really brown right. To much flour, not enough butter and sugar? I'll go back to my oatmeal topping thanks. I gave it two stars only because I hadn't thought of using pie filling for apple crisp before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casserole Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
The use of the pie filling is a good idea and makes for quick preparation. I modified the topping a little by using 3/4 cup flour and 1 1/4 cup oats. I also used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup walnuts. Serve warm with ice cream, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Marshall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
The topping was really yucky!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Don't waste your pie filling. The 2 cups of flour made a gummy topping with no absolutely no flavor. There was nothing "crisp" about this recipe. Stick with a good oatmeal/brown sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This was ok, I had to cook it longer as the top didn't seem to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
The crumble topping for this is excellent. I decided not to cheat with the filling. I used 4 fresh sliced Granny Smith apples, teaspoon of cinnamon & all spice, teaspoon brown sugar and a couple of cap fulls of dark rum. Was perfectly cooked after 45mins. Very yummy served with vanilla ice-cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
very easy to make, although the topping was a bit heavy, next time I will use less margarine, I also added chopped nuts to the topping which was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Easy to make and double
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States