Easy Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I prepared this dish like the first person (Jen Marshall) rated it and it was delicious!! I doubled the recipe, did not add nutmeg (I just don't like nutmeg) and I used 1 1/2 cups of butter instead of 2 cups. It was so easy to make and it tasted so good. I will make it again because it was so easy. We ate it hot with some whipped topping and yum yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I've made this a couple times. I thought it was great and so did my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I liked the idea of using pie filling but I changed the recipe.I used a 1/2 cup of quick oats,1/4 cup of butter(chilled)1/2 cup of brown sugar and a 1/4 cup of flour.Did use a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg.Put in 9 inch glass pie pan and did the 350 degrees for 20 minutes.The original recipe had too much flour and margarine and not enough brown sugar.Most fruit crisps also have oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Excellent and super easy! I followed the suggestion of adding walnuts to the mix for some extra crunch. Browned and crisped up nicely after about 30 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I will definitely make this again but as one reviewer said with rolled oats. If you make the recipe as is, it's too "floury." It needs at least half as much flour and more sugar in the topping. With that, I think it would make 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Ok recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay1922

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This recipe gets 5 stars for easy and another 5 for ingredients on hand! 3 or 4 stars though for the flavor... The ideal topping is: 1/2 c. flour, 3/4 c. oats, 1/2 c. brown sugar and 1/3 c. chopped walnuts. We'd prepared it according to Jen Marshall's review and it was far too much topping for our liking. Lesson learned: If it looks like too much topping, don't add it! :) I used her ratios for these suggestions, but she was certainly right in adding the oats, it would just have a strange cakey topping. We made it with peach pie filling and it turned out wonderfully. I'm sure you could use any pie filling available. Thanks Sarena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I found it very easy to make. My husband liked it, although he would've like some oatmeal in it.Could I add a little amount of oatmeal to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This recipe turned out AMAZING!! I ended up putting two cans of the apple pie filling in and adding just a little more brown sugar than the recipe called for. For those of you getting gooey toppings, try using chilled margarine instead of letting it soften. Hubby let it soften the first time and it came out a gooey and runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Taking in time as a consideration, this recipe had promise, however, I think I'll stick to a more timely recipe to achieve the results I require...a good taste. This recipe had absolutely no flavor, and the butter was way to much. Maybe if the butter was cut in half it would be ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States