Easy Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I easily could have used four or five apples, and the apples I used weren't big. I used Pink Ladies, they are delicious. Substituted pecans. Nice cake, easy, but tedious. Should have used mandolin slicer for apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Really delicious! My only "warning" is that it took much longer to bake than what the recipe said(1/2 hr. longer) Perhaps i need to check my oven temp, although i haven't had problems with other dishes, so hmmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Absolutely amazing! Adding to my regular rotation! I made twice...first time followed recipe exactly substituting butter cake mix for yellow. Second time I ommitted walnuts and mixed apples with cin/sugar before layering all in the center. Reason for 4 stars is that both times the cakes were structurally a mess. 2nd time was much better. Made sure not to overmix batter as pudding starts to set which leaves space in the cake as apples start to cook down, Overall amazingly simple and out of this world flavor. Will continue to play with until I get the structure just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I've made this a few times now and followed the recipe to a T each time. Each time...BIG HIT! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This was a fun cake to make. It tastes delicious! I would recommend mixing apple pie filling with the sliced apples and let them sit for a bit before building the cake. It seems like it's alot of apples, but it's not. To the topping I drizzled caramel on top as well. Don't over cook otherwise it will really dry out the cake. Makes a great seasonal dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chitownbakergirl
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
AMAZING AND EASY. Make exactly as recipe directs and use ALL the apples. I added 2 glazes.I drizzled a vanilla glaze made with 10-x, melted butter a bit of cream and vanilla over the cake then I drizzled caramel ice cream topping over that..WONDERFUL MY CAKE DID NOT fall apart in the middle and I baked it about 65 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I made this following the recipe exactly, and it is pretty good, but not a "Wow"ser. It just tastes like a very moist cake with a couple layers of apples, cinnamon and sugar. I'm not sure if I would make this again, there are so many other better coffee cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I made this cake as directed and it baked up beautifully. However, when I sliced it, it fell apart in the middle where the layer of apples are. I did a little repair work and took it to work anyway, my co-workers raved! I will defintely make again with a little less apples this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
tried this recipe for a coworkers birthday. big hit, except you didnt tell us what you have on top of the cake for a drizzle. that was the only thing missing from the cake other than that outstanding recipe. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
A nice dessert that everyone must have enjoyed as there is none left. I followed the directions as written, using granny smith apples. Good apple cinnamon taste. It does fall apart in the middle where the apples are when sliced. No one seemed to mind though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States