Easy Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Very good! On the sweet side, so only good for special occasions! Very pretty, good for company. I used Duncan Hines Butter flavor cake mix once, and pineapple cake mix another time. Both were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I followed this recipe as instructed and it was moist, the apples were soft, and when I took half of it to my moms she begged for the recipe and made her own just this weekend with the same delicious results. Next time I will cut the apples a little thicker because the texture was good but could have been better on those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Loved this! Made a lemon glaze to put on top and it added another layer of flavor. Very moist and yummy, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I made this in a 9x13 and used a spice cake instead of yellow. Because of that I didn't make the topping (I was using Fuji apples and it didn't need more sugar either). The apples from my tree were big--I mean, REALLY big--so I just used two big ones and a little one. I chopped them up, as others suggested, and mixed them into the batter. I almost had more apples than batter! I used the rest of the ingredients as stated and it turned out WONDERFUL! I did have to cover it with foil to keep it from browning too much on top. The cake is denser than cake mix cakes usually are which I really liked. It is not quite as dense as a regular coffee cake, in my opinion. But still yummy! It is just the right amount of sweet. If you are not using tart apples I can't imagine adding more sugar to this than what the cake mix and pudding already have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
It's good but a little too sweet, I would definitely cut down on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was delicious. I didn't scrimp on the sour cream or the apples. Worth lingering over with coffee after dinner. My family laid waste to this in less then 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I agree with some of the other reviews, this took a long time to bake. I don't know if it's because I baked mine at 325 (I used a dark tube pan). I changed a couple of things...I used a vanilla cake mix and sugar-free vanilla instant pudding. I used 5 large Gala apples. I read they are sweeter than Granny Smiths so I sliced them and mixed them with 1 TBL of lemon juice and half a cup of white sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon. I layered the apples as directed and poured the juice from the apples on the top layer. I had no problem getting the cake out of the pan and it didn't break when I flipped it over. The true test will be when I cut the cake. It smells so good, I can't wait to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Made this as directed except for using pecans because that's what I had on hand. This is a delicious and moist cake! Mine needed the full 70 minutes and came out perfect. My husband gave this an easy 10 which is saying a lot because he doesn't just hand out 10's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. My only problem with making this was the yellow cake box mix and the instant pudding mix. The recipe calls for a yellow cake box mix that weighs 18.25 ounces. However, these mixes now weigh 15.25 ounces and you can notice the missing 3 ounces when finishing the recipe. Next time, I will use a yellow cake from scratch recipe (30 minute yellow cake recipe looks good) and a vanilla pudding recipe (there is a recipe for vanilla pudding that has the same basic ingredients as an instant mix). Finally, I found that our bundt pan was missing when ready to pour the batter. I substituted a 9 x 14 pyrex dish and the coffee cake came out fine. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Mihalo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Very good. I put some of the apples (chopped) in with the batter. Covered in a powdered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States