Easy Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This cake TASTED delicious, but was an absolute mess to get out of the pan. I think I used too many apples. I know several people have commented that they used 6 apples with no problem, but is that 6 huge apples or 6 teeny-weeney apples? An actual cup measurement of the quantity would improve this recipe a bit. Thanks though - the surviving chunks of cake tasted awesome. I will try again (just with fewer apples!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I easily could have used four or five apples, and the apples I used weren't big. I used Pink Ladies, they are delicious. Substituted pecans. Nice cake, easy, but tedious. Should have used mandolin slicer for apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Really delicious! My only "warning" is that it took much longer to bake than what the recipe said(1/2 hr. longer) Perhaps i need to check my oven temp, although i haven't had problems with other dishes, so hmmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Absolutely amazing! Adding to my regular rotation! I made twice...first time followed recipe exactly substituting butter cake mix for yellow. Second time I ommitted walnuts and mixed apples with cin/sugar before layering all in the center. Reason for 4 stars is that both times the cakes were structurally a mess. 2nd time was much better. Made sure not to overmix batter as pudding starts to set which leaves space in the cake as apples start to cook down, Overall amazingly simple and out of this world flavor. Will continue to play with until I get the structure just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I've made this a few times now and followed the recipe to a T each time. Each time...BIG HIT! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This was a fun cake to make. It tastes delicious! I would recommend mixing apple pie filling with the sliced apples and let them sit for a bit before building the cake. It seems like it's alot of apples, but it's not. To the topping I drizzled caramel on top as well. Don't over cook otherwise it will really dry out the cake. Makes a great seasonal dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chitownbakergirl
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
AMAZING AND EASY. Make exactly as recipe directs and use ALL the apples. I added 2 glazes.I drizzled a vanilla glaze made with 10-x, melted butter a bit of cream and vanilla over the cake then I drizzled caramel ice cream topping over that..WONDERFUL MY CAKE DID NOT fall apart in the middle and I baked it about 65 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I made this following the recipe exactly, and it is pretty good, but not a "Wow"ser. It just tastes like a very moist cake with a couple layers of apples, cinnamon and sugar. I'm not sure if I would make this again, there are so many other better coffee cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I made this cake as directed and it baked up beautifully. However, when I sliced it, it fell apart in the middle where the layer of apples are. I did a little repair work and took it to work anyway, my co-workers raved! I will defintely make again with a little less apples this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
tried this recipe for a coworkers birthday. big hit, except you didnt tell us what you have on top of the cake for a drizzle. that was the only thing missing from the cake other than that outstanding recipe. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States