Easy Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
This was a very easy recipe to make. It was too 'cake' like for me (duh, made out of cake mix...lol), but my hubby, the apple coffeecake lover loved it! I made it on Thursday night, and by Saturday night it was history. Even the plate was licked clean. Next time I might add some nuts and chop the apples a little smaller. USE THE FULL AMOUNT OF APPLES! IT makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
I shared this coffee cake with several people who all gave it a thumbs up. I have printed out the recipe for several people who wanted it. I'll definitely make this again. I used 4 different kinds of apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
A very moist, tasty cake. I did use 6 Granny Smith apples, and I found it was perfect. When I checked on the cake after 60 minutes, it was still very soft, so I baked an additional 10 minutes, only to find out later that the cake had started to burn. I managed to scrape the very top off, and it tasted fine. Next time I want to try it warm with the ice cream, but last night I just served it at room temperature. Glad I tried it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
This is the yummiest coffee cake I've ever tasted. Everyone in my family keeps asking me to make more of this and I've already given this recipe to several people I know. I did use less apples (about 4.5 cups of apples) and I used pecans. This is well worth the time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
I made this for a work function (not mine, the hubby's...that work stuff is for the birds :-) And it looked sensational. I used granny smith apples, and they were fairly large, so by the time I sliced up 4 it looked like more than enough, so 4 is what I used. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly minus the pudding mix, as the cake mix was "double pudding" and I heeded the warnings about soggy cake. I did manage to sneak a taste where it wouldn't be noticed, and it was excellent, tangy, soft, and moist. The perfect companion for a good cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Served this at a family brunch, and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Delicious! Easy to prepare, very tasty and very moist. I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Not my favorite apple cake. I have a much better recipe from scratch I have been making for years. I made this for a sunday night dinner, I needed something fast and easy. It got mixed reviews - mostly that this cake tasted like a donut shop cake. My husband took the left overs to work and they went wild and could'nt stop eating. I'm not sure what to make of this cake. I found it far too sweet for my taste. I added skor/heath bar pieces (not with chocolate) to the top and it looked wonderful, melted beautifully. Not a bad cake in a pinch I suppose, but I definately prefer scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Very good cake...apple pie = cake style. I agree with reviewer "MWINTEROD" who stated this cake needs a longer baking time as mine too was a little soggy in places but great just the same. Looked great, smelled great while baking and everyone in my family thought it tasted pretty darn good. It was even better the next day (and equally good warmed in the mircowave for a few sec and then a small scoop of vanilla ice cream!). Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I have made this recipe several times and always get compliments. The recipe has been requested and shared with co-workers and friends. It becomes even more moist if served a day later. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States