Easy Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Fabulous! And, as the title states - EASY! You'd never know that the base was a cake mix. I used a french vanilla cake mix and french vanilla pudding mix along with a generous splash of vanilla extract to be sure the cake mix flavor wouldn't come through. And while it did seem like a lot of apples - I'm glad I did use them all because it really made a difference. I tossed the apples in the cinnamon sugar mix along with the walnuts. This came out moist, nicely spiced and chock full of delicious apples. I opted to do a vanilla glaze over top to make it pretty and let it set in the fridge overnight. This was perfect to take over to my mother-in-law's house and was a big hit especially when you cut into it and there is a wonderful thick layer of apples sandwiched in between fluffy vanilla cake. Perfect with a cup of tea or coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Texture waas not good & the cake split in half (where the apples were) after cooling it for 35 minutes. The only thing I did different from the recipe was that I sliced up "4 Big Apples" instead of "6 Regular Size Apples". If I would've used 6 Big Apples, it would've fallen apart worse. I always cook & love to do it, but I will never make this cake again. --- PSC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msindy70
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This recipe is awesome! Took it to church & it was devoured. I substituted brown sugar for the white and the next time I make it, I'll start with the 1/2 of the apple mixture then 1/2 cake mixture so that no one loses their apples from the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This is a fabulous cake!!!!!!!!!!!! Believe me I am a picky person and expect wonderfulness LOL. I had a caramel cake mix and caramel pudding so I used that. I substituted melted butter for the oil and brown sugar for the white and pecans for the walnuts. I made a caramel drizzle by melting 1.4 cup butter, 1/4 cup brown sugar and a tsp. of sour cream, brought to a boil, let thicken a bit. Drizzled it over the cooled cake. Hubby said this was the best yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Outstanding! I made the recipe as written. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Easy and tasty! I made it in a 9 x 13 pan to make it more like a snacking cake. Added a tablespoon of cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg to the batter for a little extra cinnamon flavor. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GTanta
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Wonderful cake. Very moist. Will be making this quite often and sharing with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I'm writing just to say what finally worked for me to keep this from sticking to pan & cracking. Let pan cool on a rack for ONLY 10-15 minutes. Then as precaution, I also went around edges & middle (Bundt pan). No cracks or sticking! Because I changed this, the rating doesn't accurately depict the original recipe. I used cream cheese instead of sour cream, cheesecake instant pudding instead of vanilla, used 4 c. of apple chunks & stirred them in & added 1 t. vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
If you are looking for an easy recipe that is sure to impress your guests..this is the one! I thought as I was making it that the batter was too gooey but it comes up perfect! Secret is to use granny smith apples for the tart/sweet effect. The sugar/cinnamon blend makes it really sweet and the apples compliment it well. The cake turns out exactly how it looks in the photo too, no joke! Like I said, this one is the cake to make if you looking for a delicious dessert that's easy to make (takes time peeling and slicing the apples, that's it) and looks as good as it tastes! As it cools place wax paper on the top and leave it over night. It falls out of the pan the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States