Easy Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Make this exactly as written and I promise you, you won't be disappointed. Use ALL the apples called for, bake about 65 minutes, and cover it the last 10 minutes or so with foil if it starts to get too brown. Those who say this has no flavor must not be using enough apples, which would surely change the taste and texture of this "cake." Just to dress it up, I drizzled it with a simple powdered sugar glaze. This is one darn good apple cake, densely apple-y and incredibly good. Sent it to the office with hubby and he reported his staff were all in apple heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This recipe was absolutely delicious! I subsituted a little. I used a yellow cake mix but used a cream cheese instant pudding. I also used apple pie filling instead of just apples and also subsituted brown sugar instead of regular sugar and used pecans instead of walnuts. Great warmned up with a scoop of vanilla icecream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Definitely a good cake. The amount of apples called for in the recipe is excessive, though. It needs only about 4 apples, and that would be plenty. However, it is very time-consuming to prepare, it takes a long time to bake and then has to sit for half an hour before being ready to be removed from the pan. A time-killer of a recipe, and for this reason I wouldn't make ir again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I made this recipe with 4 sliced peaches instead of apples. I also baked it for about 45 min. in a 13x9 pan instead of a bundt pan. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Great recipe. I use light sour cream and 1/2 cup of cinnamon applesauce (2 with 1 tablespoon oil) instead of 1/2 of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I would call this an apple cake, not a coffee cake. I was concerned about how thick the batter was found it difficult to layer. Next time I will chop the apples into smaller pieces, coat them in the sugar/cinnamon, and mix them in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PITA526

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
The family really enjoyed this one. I made the following changes: I coarsely diced 4 granny smith apples, and mixed them, along with 1 1/2 tsp apple pie spice in with the batter. I also diced (more finely) 1 1/2 macintosh apples and mixed them in with the nut/sugar mixture. I substituted 1/2 c brown sugar for the white sugar, and I added 1 tsp of apple pie spice with the cinnamon. Also, I only had sugar-free pudding mix, but it turned out fine. This is a very moist coffee cake. It filled the bundt pan pretty full, but it didn't rise as much as a regular cake, so it didn't overflow. I did worry that the batter was so thick, but it wasn't TOO dense. I can't imagine putting ALL of the apples in with the filling layer. As it was, the cake kind of falls apart at the center layer when you go to cut it. With all of the apples in the center, you'd have nothing holding it together at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Very easy to make! I did cut back on the number of apples, but next time I think I'll add the full amount. Very well received by friends and family. Definitely a make-again recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Very good, but very rich. My husband brought it to work and his staff devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This cake was fantastic - I had a housefull of guests and needed something I could make in advance. I even used apples off the tree in my own backyard. Everyone LOVED it - it's quite easy to make. We had it for breakfast one day, and then later that night with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States