Easy Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Delicious...And it does NOT taste like it came from a box..though, for the life of me, why would it matter if it did, you can never go wrong with a boxed cake in my opinion, have had cakes made from scratch that tasted like cardboard and were dense. Anyhow, moving on..this cake, is wonderful..Upon reading many reviews, I decided to chop the apples, rather than slice..and it DOES not say to put all apples in the center, it says to put half on the first layer, then the rest at the end. When I did it this way, many from the first layer floated toward the top, the ones at the end floated to the middle..I found they were very nicely dispersed when I sliced..Drizzled with a nice glaze..perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANALS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
How wonderful! I took this to work for a morning meeting (without even trying it first). So, at the 11th hour, I made changes -- but minor. I used 4 golden and 2 granny smith apples. Used a 9x13 pan and mixed the spices and apples. Used the vegetable oil as directed, but a healthier version would have been applesauce, so go ahead and try it. Spreading the cake batter was a bit difficult, but don't stress . . . a few drops of liquid will help that. I baked a bit longer and put foil over the top during the last few minutes. I used the full 70 minutes. Didn't do a glaze topping, but it was so sweet (but in a good, morning coffee way!), I could have cut the sugar to 1/4 cup. Next time I will. Your co-workers will very much appreciate you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tumwater, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I shouldn't be giving THIS recipe a rating because what I ended up with wasn't even the same cake. But I am giving Carol's recipe 5 stars for the inspiration. I had to make something for a family get together and I had two cake mixes in the pantry. Duncan Hines Spice cake and Banana cake mixes but I didn't want to take just a plain cake with me - So, I used Carol's recipe as a jumping off point and adapted it based on what I had in the house. Banana cake mix instead of yellow, 4 bananas instead of apples, whole milk ricotta instead of sour cream, and since ricotta is so much thicker than sour cream I also added 1/4 cup of coconut rum. It baked for 90 minutes and it came out golden and moist - I glazed it with another 1/4 cup coconut rum and 1/4 cup powdered sugar. It came out moist, Delicious and OMG decadent! Thanks for the inspiratioin Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made this recipe twice in one day. I tried some of the modifications suggested on the first one: using applesauce in place of eggs/oil, using 3 apples, coating the apples with the mixture and stirring them into the batter - it didn't turn out well at all. I was very disappointed. On the second attempt, I made it closer to the recipe, with just a few minor changes: I used only 2 large apples and spread it in a big rectangular baking dish. I layered the apple mix which worked a lot better than stirring it into the batter, but I did still coat the apples with the cinnamon sugar mix. I still had to bake it for almost 90 min. and it turned out perfect, moist and very delicious. I did add a glaze topping once it cooled, which made it even better. I brought it to an outing and everyone loved it. I'm glad I gave it a second chance. It's definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I was looking fo an easy cake recipe for Mom's get together at my son's school. It was ok, nothing really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is the best apple cake...ever! I took this to a brunch for seniors at our church and everyone loved it...especially the seniors! They all asked for the recipe. No changes, just drizzled it lightly with a glaze. Making it again for one of our desserts for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This cake is picture perfect and one of the most moist cakes I have ever made BUT it tastes like a cake mix. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Very tasty for a cake that starts with a mix, and easy to make. To avoid the problem of slices falling apart, I made mine in a 9x13 pan. All ingredients are the same (although I chopped the apples, and mixed them with the sugar/cinnamon/ nut mixture), just spread about 2/3 of the batter in the greased pan, top with the apples (pressing down), then drop spoonfuls of the remaining batter all over the apples and spread as best you can. Bake till the knife comes out clean, and you WILL need to cover it with foil to keep it from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
YUMMY IN YOUR TUMMY! YES I'M SHOUTING! This was soooo good & easy! More time peeling & cutting than making the recipe. I finely chopped 1 of the apples & stirred it into the batter. I did use someones suggestion and stirred sugar and nuts into the fruit just before assembling batter and apples. If you sugar too soon; the fruit will weep and make a lot of liquid. This was moist and dense. I wanted to serve it as a dessert so I made whip cream and served it with some sliced apples as presentation. My coffee crew just loved it & I will be printing several recipes requests this afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
i just took this cake out of the oven and it is delicious! i followed the recipe pretty much "as written" with only a few changes because of the country in which i live: since one can't get sour cream here, i substituted low-fat, plain yogurt that i had drained a little beforehand...probably doing that cut out A LOT of fat grams too! also, since i didn't have a bundt pan, i baked it in a 9x13. since italians like their cakes a little on the "dry side", i baked it for about 1.5 hours at 350 and it didn't burn. (my oven is tiny and LAME!) like another reviewer suggested, i finely chopped the apples and i did use all 6 (of various sizes) with no problems. other than those few changes i thought it was a GREAT recipe! ***the one thing i would recommend is to have all your ingredients ready BEFORE you start mixing the batter. i waited too long (chopping the apples) and had a lot of difficulty spreading the batter in the pan. the pudding makes it very thick.***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marco in italia

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States