Easy Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Goofed up and used five(5) eggs,3 sm. and 2 XL.,(4)apples,cooked 70 min, at 360 degrees.3 t of cinnamon. Banana cream pudding(4 1/2 oz). Techniquely, I used approx 1/8 less oil and added 1/4 c. of applesauce. Would have used more but ran out of apple suace . Finished with real nice crusted cake. Frosted with 4T. milk and 1 and 1/4 cup of powder sugar and 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Wow ,very good. Stayed together good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Awesome cake. My family really enjoyed this cake. I didn't think it was going to amount to much because the batter was quite stiff and hard to spread into the pan. I also only used three large apples because that's all I had. Although it was very good I would use the recommended amount of apples next time. Great for snack of breakfast with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Very good! On the sweet side, so only good for special occasions! Very pretty, good for company. I used Duncan Hines Butter flavor cake mix once, and pineapple cake mix another time. Both were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I followed this recipe as instructed and it was moist, the apples were soft, and when I took half of it to my moms she begged for the recipe and made her own just this weekend with the same delicious results. Next time I will cut the apples a little thicker because the texture was good but could have been better on those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Loved this! Made a lemon glaze to put on top and it added another layer of flavor. Very moist and yummy, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I made this in a 9x13 and used a spice cake instead of yellow. Because of that I didn't make the topping (I was using Fuji apples and it didn't need more sugar either). The apples from my tree were big--I mean, REALLY big--so I just used two big ones and a little one. I chopped them up, as others suggested, and mixed them into the batter. I almost had more apples than batter! I used the rest of the ingredients as stated and it turned out WONDERFUL! I did have to cover it with foil to keep it from browning too much on top. The cake is denser than cake mix cakes usually are which I really liked. It is not quite as dense as a regular coffee cake, in my opinion. But still yummy! It is just the right amount of sweet. If you are not using tart apples I can't imagine adding more sugar to this than what the cake mix and pudding already have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
It's good but a little too sweet, I would definitely cut down on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was delicious. I didn't scrimp on the sour cream or the apples. Worth lingering over with coffee after dinner. My family laid waste to this in less then 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I agree with some of the other reviews, this took a long time to bake. I don't know if it's because I baked mine at 325 (I used a dark tube pan). I changed a couple of things...I used a vanilla cake mix and sugar-free vanilla instant pudding. I used 5 large Gala apples. I read they are sweeter than Granny Smiths so I sliced them and mixed them with 1 TBL of lemon juice and half a cup of white sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon. I layered the apples as directed and poured the juice from the apples on the top layer. I had no problem getting the cake out of the pan and it didn't break when I flipped it over. The true test will be when I cut the cake. It smells so good, I can't wait to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Made this as directed except for using pecans because that's what I had on hand. This is a delicious and moist cake! Mine needed the full 70 minutes and came out perfect. My husband gave this an easy 10 which is saying a lot because he doesn't just hand out 10's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States