Easy Apple Cinnamon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by canuwrite
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
There is so much wrong with the directions and measurements. 1. it yields 12 regular muffins, not 6. I suspect it might actually be a recipe for jumbo muffins and she forgot to mention that. 2. two apples made up more than 50% of the batter and was definitely too much so 1 apple is plenty. 3. She states to fill the cups to the top, however if you do, this is what you will end up with: 4 hours of scouring your oven and kitchen floor from all the overflow butter and sugar that leaked out of the oven. Just follow the cardinal rule of muffins/cupcakes: never fill more than 2/3 full and you'll be fine. 4. Do NOT use 1/2 Cup butter for the "sprinkle" topping or you will end up with grainy pasty goo that will never (on planet Earth) sprinkle. I suggest cutting back to 1/4 cup to keep the mixture on the dry side, allowing you to sprinkle it as she suggests. I appreciated the taste she was going for. Trust me, follow these 4 EASY corrections to this recipe and they will come out right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
927 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Great muffins! I substitute whole wheat flour for 1/2 cup of white, and I use about half brown sugar and half white. I also use applesauce for half of the oil, and that works well. I like Granny Smith apples in these muffins because they hold their shape and flavor nicely (I cut them into big chunks because I like the apples to be noticeable!). I find that extra cinnamon doesn't dry these out because the apples are so moist. And for the topping, I use 1/4 cup of softened butter instead of 1/2, and this seems to be plenty. I wouldn't fill the muffin cups more than 3/4 because the muffins do rise, and the topping can be messy in the oven. Overall, this is a great recipe--wonderful flavor, texture, sweetness, moistness, etc. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
The finished product tasted wonderful, but you really need to fill muffin tins with batter only two thirds full at most, and make only one third the amount of butter crumb mixture. We spent the balance of our post muffin morning cleaning the horrible burned on mess in the bottom of our oven from too full muffin cups. Filling the tin less would probably yield a full dozen normal sized muffins. With this correction they should be excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I liked this recipe, its simple and easy. I found that if you change some of the ingredients, like instead of 1.5 cups of sugar, I just used one; Instead of 2/3 cups of oil and milk i used 1/3 of both, added an extra egg and some hot water to replace the milk and oil, the mixture turns out more fluffy and light. Nice simple recipe tho :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
WARNING! Do not fill the cups to the top as the recipe says! You will have a big mess in your oven if you do. Also, there was a lot of butter in the topping. Next time I will make sure that I half the butter like others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
After having read previous reviews for this recipe, I modified it the first time out by adding more milk and doubling the cinnamon. I also found that it yields an average of ten, rather than six and the topping was enough for two batches. Overall, these were a hit with my family, with the changes I made, and they clamored for more once the first batch was gone. As muffin recipes go, I thought these were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I did not read the reviews first. I wish I did because I ended up with a mess in the oven. Do not fill to rim like it says to. They were great though. I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Geneva, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This recipe was great! It was very easy and quick, except for peeling and chopping the apples, but i guess there's no way around that! I used 2 tsp. of cinnamon instead of one and also instead of 1/3 c. oil, i used 1/8 c. vegetable oil and 1/4 c. applesauce. I got 12 muffins out of this. They are delicious- a great way to get rid of some apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I rate it a 5 off the way the recipe exists - and I had the recipe altered to make 12 muffins. The batter filled 12 cups perfectly, but then grew out instead of up at all, which resulted in a very messy oven and lots of smoke. For the topping, I used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar which was really good. The taste of the muffin was good, but a touch too sweet and a little flat. Perhaps this could be fixed with just a dash of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Delicious! I liked that they were dense b/c it makes a filling breakfast muffin. Was able to make 9 muffins. Only thing odd was that the topping didn't mix well for me...In order to cube the butter, I took it straight from the fridge. Maybe I did something wrong. I ended up wasting a lot of the crumb topping b/c it looked like too much for the few muffins the batter made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States