Easy Apple Cinnamon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
We added the sprinkle to the top ( it was barely a sprinkle with all the butter) and it overflowed and started bubbling. DO NOT whatsoever fill the sprinkle to the top or else it will leave your pan a mess. They all stuck together in one piece. The flavor was pretty nice, though.Try the measurements people recommend and do not do the original recipe. Thanks for reading!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I just tried this recipe, and took some of the suggestions made by other reviewers. I used 12 muffin cups (which, if I'm being honest, I didn't even notice the recipe said for 6), and reduced the butter in the crumb recipe. I'm so glad I reduced the butter, because each of the cups has a fair amount of grease (be it butter or oil) in the base of it after I've taken the muffins out to cool. Now, I did use paper muffin cups instead of greasing, so maybe it's something there. Just wondering if anyone else had that problem? I also added 1tsp of vanilla out of habit. The recipe probably didn't need it with all of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Made 10 muffins and a mess.. Good taste though. Way too much topping. Waste of butter. Make half..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarah.williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I am a newbie when it comes to baking and muffin making. In fact, this is the second muffin recipe that I tried (and I followed 90% of the recipe) and it was a success! I was a bit worry at first after reading the various reviews that document spilling disaster in the oven due to filling the muffin cups fully. But... I had no spilling problem at all despite the fact that I DID fill the batter into the tins exactly to the top of the muffin cup (I used regular muffin tins & I made 12 muffins with the recipe). I also used paper cup liners. In fact, upon being baked, it makes the muffin nice & cute with their 'swollen' tops. I agreed that the topping mixture was too much, so I did a lot of cutback; in fact, I omitted the butter altogether (maybe this is the culprit of the spilling disasters that many people had). The only drawback that I found in this muffin recipe is : still TOO SWEET, despite the fact that I reduced the white sugar. So here are the only modification that I did: Muffin batter: White sugar reduced: 3/4 cup to 1/2 cup ---> still too sweet Milk increased: 1/3 cup to 1/2 cup --> to make the batter less dry Granny Smith apples: 2 apples to 1 1/4 apples Also added 2 tsp of vanilla and 1/8 tsp of turmeric to give color. Everything else remained the same. Toppings: White flour reduced: 1/3 cup to 1 tbsp White sugar: omitted and replaced with 1 tbsp + 1 tsp chopped block brown sugar Butter: omitted Added chopped walnut: 1 tbsp Ground cinnamon: remained the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I like the recipe. I used 1 cup all purpose flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. I used only one apple and used apple sauce to replace the vegetable oil. For the topping I only mixed cinnamon and sugar and sprinkled it on top. The muffins are healthier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I've made the recipe here with the most common corrections in the previous comments, i.e. 2/3 cup milk, only 1 apple, and half the butter for the crumble topping. For those interested in a healthier but still good alternative: measure 1 1/2 cups oats to match, process them into a powder, and use to replace the flour. Also, cut the sugar in half, and omit the crumble topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdmurray88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Churchville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Just quadrupled this recipe and used the suggestions of one reviewer to use half applesauce/half oil and half brown sugar/white sugar and half butter for topping. I used macintosh apples and left them in pretty big chunks. Didn't know if it would affect the muffins. It didn't! I baked them 18 minutes and they were absolutely mouthwatering! I used regular size muffin tins, so it made 12 muffins instead of 6 for one batch. They always freeze well, so I put a bunch in the freezer for when my sons come home from college for Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
These were good but not all that I had hoped. They turned out heavy and not very good looking. They tasted better than they looked. I was able to make about 18 muffins so not sure why the serving size on the original recipe was so off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Delicious. I used a regular sized muffin pan for 6, however, filled them to the top and still had left over batter. Not a problem. I had challenges removing them from the form though even after greasing them well. I will make this again though. Next time I will keep the apple pieces a little larger so as to distinguish them in the muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
1. The liquid to dry ratio is way too low and ends up in a play-dough-like mixture. I had to add extra milk to thin it out so I could fold in the apples. 2. Unless you have a cast iron fork, there's no way to mix the topping by hand. I recommend pulsing in the food processor. The topping recipe also makes a lot and I found myself binning a good portion of it. What a waste. All said, the muffins came okay. I didn't have any problem with them over-topping the cups (maybe because I thinned out the batter). Sorry, but I can't rate this one my usual 4 or 5 stars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States