Easy Apple Cinnamon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Yummy! I used a 1/3 cup of apple sauce just to add a bit more to the batter (makes them more moist) I never fill the liners to any muffin or cup cake if they say to as 99% of the time they will over flow! For topping I did my own use 2 apple and spice oat meal packets not even 1/4 cup of brown sugar and about 5 tsp of soft butter (NOT MELTED) use spoon to mis and make crumble. Take a little brown sugar and sprinkle on top of muffin (just a little) then add crumble bake half the time on middle rack then move to top rack for the rest of the! Spilt open and use either a little jam or even great with cream cheese! Love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
These muffins are great. It does make 6 JUMBO muffins. I was lazy when I made this, and used 1/2 a cup of chunky apple sauce instead of cutting up the apples. The cake part came out great! I also cut the amount of butter for the crumb topping, the second time I made. I used 1/3 cup of the Land o Lakes cinnamon butter instead of 1/2 cup of regular butter, and the topping was perfect. This is a great, easy recipe to make with your kids too. I will be doubling the recipe for a brunch that we are hosting for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
As far as I am concerned this doesn't even deserve 1 star! The quantity is all wrong..I figured that out and filled 12 standard size muffin cups, using paper liners. So far, so good. While the muffins were baking in the oven, I noticed a burning smell coming from my kitchen. When I pulled them out of the oven, the 'goo' had spread all over the baking pan. I let them cool for a bit, then tried to remove the muffins from the tin. They came out in pieces...no way to serve these as a 'muffin'. I know my husband will LOL when he comes home from work and sees my mess. I am usually a pretty good cook/baker . . . this recipe was a terrible waste of my time and ingredients. It makes me wonder if allrecipes.com has and uses a test kitchen to verify the quality of recipes. I guess allrecipes leaves it up to folks like me who are willing to experiment. I won't trust and make that mistake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Don't fill the cups to the top only fill to 3/4 and use 1/4 cup of butter for the topping and they are perfection in a cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
We loved this! Followed the recipe using the suggestions from the top reviewer. We ended up doubling the batch and not exactly measuring the apples (who does that anyway? Two apples can equal 1 cup, 1/2 a cup, etc), just adding how many we liked. Next time we'll add even more and probably in bigger chunks! I did find that we had waaaay more topping that we needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaci Kulish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dilworth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I only used one apple and sprinkled the top with our cinnamon toast mixture without any butter. Perfect. Makes 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
A nice, simple recipe to make. I added a couple more apples, 1/2 t nutmeg and 1/2 t allspice. And then cut the butter in half for the topping. I have made it several times this fall with our abundant supple of apples. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
The only changes I made to this recipe was for the interest of my waistline: rather than 1/2c butter, I just used 1/3c. Mixing it with the sugar mix will not allow you to 'sprinkle' it on top, so just spread it. Makes a nice brown sugar crust that's absolutely delicious. This recipe makes 12 regular sized muffins, as many have already noted. I used 3 small apples (it looked like a heaping 2 1/2 cups) and I really liked the apple-batter ratio. It does seem like a lot of apple, but once you get baking and the dough fluffs up, the amount of apples really aren't too much. On another note, I also only filled the cups 2/3 and they filled out just fine. 25 minutes in the oven were perfect. My entire family basically sat in front of the oven while these were baking; they made the house smell amazing. We 3 people polished off the lot in less than 24 hours. I call this recipe a success! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
The recipe I will be revamping the next time. I wish I would have looked at the reviews. DO NOT fill to the top. The edges over flowed like others and had a mess. I feel that this baker must have posted these messed up instructions on purpose. And the butter mixture is to much as well. We could not enjoy these as is, due to the muffins were still gooey and the tops were fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waynesville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
worst muffins ive ever made. WAY too much butter in the topping - impossible to 'sprinkle'. also too much apple in my opinion... I think someone needs to review the measurments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 123barefeet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States