Easy Apple Cinnamon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I've made these several times now and find the original recipe is a bit blah for my taste, but it' a great base to start with if you are not afraid of experimenting in the kitchen. I double the recipe to make a 12"x8" pan of squares instead of muffins. For a double batch I make the following adjustments: All whole wheat flour, 1 cup loosely measured brown sugar, 1 tbsp baking powder, 4 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg, 2 flax eggs, soy milk in place of regular, Unless my apples are rather large, I add an extra one (so 5 instead 4 in a double batch). I also shred some and chop the rest. Keeping them on the healthier side, I omit the topping altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Following the recipe as well as suggested changes led to a delicious, most, tasty muffin that I'll definitely save the recipe for. I did however change the milk from 1/3 cup to 1/2. The batter was just a little too thick for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I alter every recipe to be healthier. These muffins turned out amazing! Use apple sauce instead of oil, add a tsp of vanilla for added flavour and use all wholewheat flour. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Wow, I wanted 18 muffins for a large family crowd, so I tripled the recipe. OOPS! Big Mistake...I must never forget to read the comments again. Muffins #19 through 36 PLUS a large loaf are in the oven now. IDK- 3 hours later... However, they are beautiful and delicious! Just follow the comments. Fill each cup halfway. The recipe makes twice as much as it says. Add oats too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthe kitchen247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arcadia, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
A healthier zest to a good recipe....I added 3 apples, used only 1/3 cup brown sugar instead of 3/4 cup white sugar, added 2 Tbsp orange juice, removed some of the oil and substituted with 1/3 c apple sauce and used 1/2 whole wheat flour & 1/2 white flour. I didn't add the topping since they were good without it. Great muffins - light, fluffy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
These turned out much better then expected. I read some of the reviews and they were a great help. As in one review it was said not to fill the cups completely before putting on the topping. You should listen to that one, I could see that a big mess was averted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Add a little less sugar. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gill Ian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
These are absolutely delicious. Note: 588 calories each! I would recommend cutting way back on the butter used in the topping--maybe only use 1/4 cup. Also, apples vary greatly in size. I picked one ginourmous apple off our tree and it was too much. Cut the apples in fairly small chunks. I wish I didn't know how good and easy these were...588 calories, 588 calories...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Recipe was great, I did not make the topping because my husband and I are trying to eat healthier, and it didn't seem necessary, was delicious on its own. I used oats in the mix, and that seemed to hold it together enough so that I could fill the tins all the way. I sprinkled some oats on top, and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
As written, this recipes amounts for the ingredients are all off. I was making this as written when I realized this will not turn out. I had to add more liquid so I added a little more milk, a little more oil and some sour cream until I felt I had the right consistency of a batter. Also, I felt 2 apples were too much so I only put in 1 and 1/2 apples. I didn't have enough batter to fill it to the top so 2/3rds full plus adding the streusel topping works. For the streusel topping, I only used 1/4 cup of butter. I wasn't sure how these would turn out but with the modifications, they turned out pretty good. Great flavor. Only 2 stars because of the measurements of the ingredients were of. This recipe makes 6 jumbo muffins. I should have read the reviews first as other reviewers also said the ingredient measurements were incorrect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States