Easy American Potato and Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is really good. Looking forward to creating this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
The flavors are good and potatoes complement the tuna, but visually it is unappealing and the mashed potato texture doesn't feel like an entre. Definitely serve it with something green. Maybe leaving the potatoes very lumpy would help, and adding parboiled celery and carrots would make it more like a meat pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snowmass Village, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I made this recipe tonight and there was no spice in the recipe. I added salt and a pepper blend. My husband thought it was still bland. Next time we are adding Cheddar cheese and some peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
this was great, and very, very easy - convenient for a busy cook like myself. an excellent dish for a new cook :D well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Love it! Perfect for lent. Great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I, personally, have never used potatoes in my tuna casseroles (never thought to; DUH!) but my Daughter used this recipe as a base for a cooking class she's taking at our local CC. She "tweaked" it by using 4 cans of albacore tuna (it was on sale/50% off) rather than 3 and adding 1 Knorr's vegetable boullion cube to the "potato water". She added 1/2 stick of butter and 1 T. fresh chives to the potatoes when she "mashed" them (with our hand mixer) and tossed the tuna with 1/2 tsp. fresh dill, 1 tsp. ReaLemon, 1 stalk of celery (chopped fine), 1/2 medium zucchini, 2 carrots (she used our "vegetable peeler" to give them a "julienned" look) and some mushrooms (whatever I had in the refrigerator). Then she "layered" it: bottom layer - potatoes with parmesan cheese (all 3 T.); middle layer - the tuna mixture; top level - more of the potato mixture (no parmesan, but 3 slices of Mozzarella "folded" in). She TOPPED her "presentation" with 3 slices of Provolone (a little bit more of a "kick" but not overpowering) and baked it for 25-30 minutes. HER recipe made 2 "presentations", so she used 4 eggs, 3/4 cup of 2% milk and 1 cup of vegetable boullion (for moisture). My Daughter got an "A" for her assignment and I've been delegated to making no fewer than 6 of "her creations" for a Lenten "pot luck" at our Church. In brief: we felt this was a good basic recipe but only with her/our added "tweaks" would we give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mom23boysn1girl
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I was excited to try this recipe...who could go wrong with tuna and potatoes... I found this to be very dry despite adding sour cream and extra cheese. However, the flavor was pretty good (I did add some mustard and spices as suggested by others) and my kids loved it. I'll probably play around with the recipe a bit to increase the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I have been making this for years, and just looked up the recipe again because I am making it today. My changes: I use sweet onion that I dice and carmelize in butter first, use 50% more tuna, a mixture of jack and sharp chedder,a dash of cayenne, and double the parmesan. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This is similar to a recipe that I make... try adding a spoonful of mustard to the mix and using mature cheddar for some added zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLYSCOTTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I am really sorry...but this was just not good at all. Very dry and flavorless except for the taste of tuna. It was edible (hence, 2 stars instead of 1)...but definitely not memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States