Easy Alfredo Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Great sauce for pasta. I heated the cream, whisked in the butter in chunks, then sprinkled in the freshly grated parmesan a little at a time. It seemed thin, so I let it set for 10 minutes and it did, indeed, thicken up as the recipe described. The kids even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This is the perfect base sauce! Since there are few things my kids will eat, and this is one of their favorites, we have this once a week for pasta night. I use unsalted real butter, Frigo shaved Parmesan cheese, and just Great Value brand whipping cream. I dump all three ingredients in the pan at once and then set my burner to the "melt" setting. Just put it on the lowest setting if yours doesn't have a "melt" function. I keep it this low until the butter is completely melted, stirring occasionally. Once the butter is melted, crank it up to medium and let the cheese start melting...it WILL melt and meld, promise! Once the cheese is melted and it's all stringy, I crank up the heat another couple of notches and let it come to a rolling boil, stirring constantly. Let it boil one minute...that's how you get it smooth. Now let's talk flavor. I like very flavorful alfredo sauce. I add salt to taste, several fresh basil leaves, and garlic powder to taste. I add these extras at the beginning. Hope that helps for those of you saying this was bland or that their were timing issues with melting the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Tried this recipe tonight. My son said that it was a repeatable meal after only a couple of bites. I followed the recipe and added sautéed chicken pieces with garlic. Goodbye jarred Alfredo sauce. Thank you for a terrific addition to our menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I loved this recipe. I've read some people find it to bland but for me (and I'm a more simple type of girl) I loved it. My husband and kids couldn't eat it fast enough. And for people who love to experiment and add things this is really a great base. It made it following the recipe the first time and the second time I added fresh garlic. It was great both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Out of all the sauces that I have tried, my boyfriend loves this the most. Of course, I love it too. It is simple and delicious. I always add about 3 cloves of garlic and some mushrooms to complete this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This sauce tasted pretty good (I added some garlic powder for flavor) but it didn't thicken at all. Worked for my leftovers but would need to be better for a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Awesome sauce! With 3 simple ingredients you can't wrong on making this. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Could not have been easier or more delicious. I added some garlic powder, black pepper and thyme for added flavor. My husband and I are on the Atkins diet and the premade Alfredo sauce has corn starch and other fillers we didn't want. We had this over chicken and vegetables and it was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is a perfect example of a simple recipe that takes a bit of practice. I've work as a cook for many, many years, this is basically the recipe I've used. Your sauce needs to get hot, but never let bubble. I like to use small amounts of white pepper. It takes practice but if you've eaten a dish with alfrado in a restraunt this is the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Best sauce ever... I doubled the recipe, added shrimp and mushrooms that were sauted in butter and garlic powder. Then I added a package of cooked fettucine noodles. It came out perfect, and even better the next day. I love this recipe and will continue to use it over and over again. Just note though, that it is a little runny at first, but comes out perfect once the pasta is added to it. Don't know if it thickens as it sits. I didn't try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States