Easy Alfredo Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Incredible! One of my fav go to fast dinners is sausage with noodles in Alfredo sauce with boiled veggies like zucchini and broccoli. I have only ever used the store bought jar stuff. I had no idea how easy and delishes it is to make it your self!! I love limiting the preservatives I feed my family. Both my husband and I just loved this recipe!! It is now in the rotation. It was very easy. I did add salt n pepper n garlic powder. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Its a very good sauce. I cut back a little on the unsalted butter and add some olive oil. Also, if you wanna take it to the next level, use fresh parsley (I chop it very fine) and garlic. Gruyere cheese is very good mixed in as well. Good as it is, or as a base recipe that you customize as you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justin nichols

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Wonderful, simple. Creamed butter and garlic in food processor first, then melted in sauce pan added heavy cream, slowly added cheese. Delicious. Best homemade I've tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Super easy and so tasty - much better than the packaged, pre-made Alfredo sauces you get at the grocery store, which tend to have a lot of other ingredients you don't really need. I agree with the reviewer who noted that you get the best results from adding the Parmesan cheese slowly, and stirring continuously. Also, I used Parmesan-Romano, which gave it a little extra zip, and real butter (unsalted), which does make a difference flavor-wise. I figure, as long as you don't have it every day, there's nothing wrong with this - it uses real ingredients and not a bunch of chemical additives, and you can truly say it's homemade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LGM429

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I would have given this recipe 5 stars, however, it should include that you need to add the cheese SLOWLY. From the way the recipe is written it looks like you just put it all into a sauce pan and let it do its thing. It should also explain that stirring it frequently helps. It is a good recipe (as far as ingredients go) but not a good recipe as far as directions go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
this is a great, easy recipe. I did have a hard time getting it to thicken as the recipe says it will. I added a cornstarch slurry and then it thickened nicely. It tastes really good though, maybe I'll read some of the reviews and try to do it right next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I had to fix it. Even without all the cream called for, it was still too liquidy so I put it back on the heat, boiled it good, finally added a little arrowroot slurry, whisked out lumps, and then it was thick. Tasted bitter from the parmesan. Next time I'm using Parmigiano Reggiano, not an off-brand block. I whisked in a few ounces of cream cheese and it was fine. My mom said it was the best alfredo she's had. If you want easy and gluten-free, I like this technique. Next time I'll keep the cream cheese and just leave time to cook it down until it's thick. Good stuff, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
So easy and very tasty! I made it with half-and-half and added a tiny sprinkle of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Amazing sauce, and my first truly successful alfredo! Started by sweating a couple of cloves of chopped garlic in butter, whisked in cream, pinch of nutmeg and then cheese. Just keep stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
All I added was a couple of cloves of minces garlic and some salt and pepper. Yummmmm. I added some grilled chicken. OMG. This was really delish. I also tossed some asparagus in olive oil, salt and pepper and coated them in the cheapo parm and grilled them for a wonderful side dish. Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimPerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: House Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 526) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States