Easy Alfredo Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This is the way I learned to make Alfredo sauce, except I have always used fresh garlic and white pepper in the mix. And it's quick and easy. But, like most of the rest I have refined it for various reasons. The biggest reason is: if (and that's a big if) there are any leftovers, this sauce will separate when refrigerated, and no amount of stirring or coaxing will get it to come back together. I now add a little flour and cut down on the butter to act as a binder; it makes a very thin white roux. Proceed as the recipe says and add cheese, and other spices to taste, thinning with a little milk if the sauce thickens too much because of the flour. Voila, a sauce that can be reheated if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
As with any base sauce seasoning and additional flavors are personal preferences. I like to bring cream to a low simmer. Add cheese in 3 parts stirring until each is completely melted. Follow this with the butter in the same way. Season to taste with salt and pepper(I use white pepper on this sauce). To hold reduce heat to lowest. Don't let this boil, it will break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Too much fat...I use half and half in place of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Awesome and beyond easy. Used it for shrimp tortellini Alfredo. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Oh my goodness! This was a great starter recipe. I followed another reviewer advice and slowly added the cheese to the hot cream/butter mixture, stirring constantly. Then to take it up a step, I added a couple of handfuls of thawed, and pressed dry, frozen spinach; a very large clove of fresh garlic (pressed); and some pepper. I served this over spaghetti squash (my favorite 'pasta') and it was totally awesome! My hubby said it was "excellent!" Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Great simple recipe. I added some garlic powder, italian seasoning and parsley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annamarie
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
First time I made this sauce and it was wonderful. I read the reviews and melted the butter first, added the whipped cream, and very slowly added the parmesan (only had 1 1/4 c). I whisked constantly on med then went to simmer to give me time to heat the chicken and frozen broccoli. I added 1/2 tsp of garlic pwd, basil, S&P and threw some parsley in before I added the parmesan. My husband and I loved it. We had it with broccoli and grilled chicken, but I did not mix it together until served. This is def a keeper. And yes, it is as good if not better than Olive Garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I was skeptical of the recipe since I didn't know if the butter would integrate with the cream. It did and made for a luscious sauce. I added chopped garlic in with the butter when it was melting. I added the parmesan cheese in stages until it fully melted and stirred with a whisk often. I added in salt and pepper and it made for a wonderful dinner. Hubby said we could have this once a month since it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Easy and very tasty. My children loved it. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Incredible! One of my fav go to fast dinners is sausage with noodles in Alfredo sauce with boiled veggies like zucchini and broccoli. I have only ever used the store bought jar stuff. I had no idea how easy and delishes it is to make it your self!! I love limiting the preservatives I feed my family. Both my husband and I just loved this recipe!! It is now in the rotation. It was very easy. I did add salt n pepper n garlic powder. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States