Easy Alfredo Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Nardsbaby
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Instead of the heavy whipping cream I used low fat evaporated condensed milk. And it was wonderful. I'm not a fan of Alfredo sauce in the restaurant, but at home...YUM! My husband loves Fettuccine Alfredo so I had to make it in order to keep him happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nardsbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I followed directions exactly but the sauce was WAY too thin for my liking! I did add some fresh garlic to the butter as it melted and slowly added the cheese after the heavy cream was hot. The flavor was good but it never thickened up as stated. I'll have to add something to make it more sauce like - cream cheese? Cornstarch? I think I'll go back to my other recipe. Waste of pricy cream and cheese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I used to work at a small Italian restaurant and this is the way they made alfredo but usually added an egg yolk to help thicken it. Really good. Much better than the preservative flavored sauces in a jar and basically foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
We usually top with fresh chopped or dried oregano or parsley for some green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I use this recipe all the time. As I have seen mentioned in reviews if you like more flavor, add it. I melt the butter first and then saute garlic for about 1-2 minutes and then add the cream. I bring that to just below a boil, do not boil. Then slowly add the parmesan. Then I add white pepper to my taste. The garlic and white pepper were part of the recipe I have but otherwise the recipes are identical. A very easy quick recipe that leaves you room to make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I originally got this recipe from an Italian lady and it is the only one that I use. My son called me from college wanting the recipe so that he could make it for his roommates. I melt my butter first, then add the cream and heat before I add the parmesan cheese. I keep adding cheese until it is as thick as I like it. Sometimes I will add garlic, sometimes not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRYMIKE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Very good and simple but I added 2 cups of frozen pea's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I make often, basically the same recipe. But for all you 4 stars and less, try this. I followed this recipe with a few additions. I had some Italian sausage that I cooked up with onions. I added a cut up grilled chicken breast and zucinni that I boiled with the pasta. The secret is....add a dash of nutmeg to the sauce. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Ive tried this recipe and think it is good. I'm a busy woman who does the cooking for my family it's simple and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Yes!!! The base ingredients are good. But if you want to add a kick to it, add about 3-4 Tbsp of Sherry wine, about 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and some fresh ground pepper. Now you got a sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States