Easy Alfredo Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I've been making alfredo for a couple dozen years and agree this is the very best base to make a yummy creamy cream sauce. On a side note, I find it frightening that so many use Olive Garden as a point of comparison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I can't believe some people can't make this sauce! There's only 3 ingredients! 4 if you count the noodles. Good grief, If it's too thick, add some cream. If it's too bland, add some spice. It's just a base. If you can't make something like this, you have no business cooking. I pity your family. I added garlic, a little bacon, removed from heat, then a little fresh tomato. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysteryman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I have been making my alfredo sauce the same way for years with some minor differences. I always use unsalted butter, which I place in the saucepan first. Once melted I place one slice of onion chopped finely. Note: I use a thin slice to ensure it simply adds flavor and does not overpower the sauce. I let the onions cook for a bit and then add one crushed garlic and two leaves of fresh basil (If I only have dried crushed basil on hand I omit it from the recipe). Once the onions turn translucent, remove the crushed garlic from the pan and add the cream. Stir until the sauce comes to a slow boil. Turn down flame, slowly add FRESHLY GRATED Parmesan cheese (fresh is key, do not substitute), 1/2 a cup at a time making sure to constantly stir. Do not add more cheese until the previous batch is fully melted into the sauce. Add two pinches of sea salt and a dash of pepper. Stir until combined. Remove from heat and let sit until desired consistency is reached.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Thanks Kathy...finally a good alfredo sauce recipe. The stuff in a jar just doesn't quite get it. I had attempted a time or two on my own but couldn't quite get it right!! Thanks again....it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is a very good recipe, but for the true Alfredo taste, I also add 1/2 cup of freshly grated Romano cheese, whisked in along with the Parmesan 1/2 cup at a time to prevent clumping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very good sauce! Much better than Jar. I let the cream and butter come to a boil before adding cheese. It was so easy my daughter made it with me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I should have let it cook a little longer cause it was a little grainy. My husband takes credit for the idea, but I know where the recipe came from:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
it didn't have flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
so good! i love garlic so i added 3 cloves of crushed garlic to the butter as it was melting, then added the cream, let it warm up, then added the cheese 1/2 cup at a time and stirred between each 1/2 cup. i also added about a tablespoon of chopped fresh parsley when i took it off the heat. added 16oz of cooked fettucine and some grilled chicken. i will definitely be making this again!!! delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseKimmi
Home Town: Hansford, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ruffin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I will never buy alfredo sauce from the store again. I added garlic to it and it tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hanzu81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States