Easy A La King Biscuit Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Easy A La King Biscuit Casserole Haiku: "This was pretty bland. The worst was raw biscuit dough. Whole dish was a dud." The best part of this recipe was that it didn't call for a can of cream of this-or-that, but the end result was still really tame and could've greatly benefited from some herbs and/or seasoning. Also, in 30 min. we had biscuits that were more than golden on the top (veering into overdone territory), but totally raw half-way down, so when serving it, we had to tug and flick away the uncooked biscuits which was very disappointing to the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Delicious! Next time try making it with cream of chicken soup instead of chicken broth for a creamier a la king.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was really good! Even my 17yr old liked it and he is such a critic on my cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Following suggestions from other reviewers, I added some thyme, rosemary, salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper (to kick it up a notch). I also used a store-bought rotisserie chicken. The outcome was yummy! Really should have doubled all of the ingredients (except biscuits) to have more substance under all those biscuits. It seemed pretty skimpy - in fact I was digging around under the other biscuits to get enough "stuff" for us to eat. Next time, I'll double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I had to substitute homemade turkey broth and turkey meat for the chicken broth/chicken meat in this casserole only because that's what I had on hand. I did use equal amounts fresh sliced baby bella mushrooms. I made this casserole in my cast iron skillet. What I did was browned the onion with the mushrooms, red pepper and a little fresh minced garlic in the butter in the skillet, then added the flour and let the mixture turn a light brown before adding the broth, turkey meat and the remaining vegetables. Before sticking the casserole in the oven, I brushed each biscuit with butter. My casserole was done in a little over 20 minutes. The whole family liked it. This is really like a quick Turkey Pot Pie. I'd make this again. Very filling and comforting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was really tasty !! I used a small chicken that I had cooked, added a couple dashes of poultry seasoning & fresh mushrooms, going in my favorites for sure..thanks Sal for the post..Love it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is a definite keeper!! This was outstanding, I did make a couple of changes tho. My family doesn't like peppers so I substituted celery, I also used all fresh vegies. I sweated my onions in butter and olive oil which really brought out the flavor. I made this for 15 servings so I put it in a greased roasting pan. It came out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
we had to make some adjustments since my husband is gluten-free (had to make our own gluten-free biscuits and make the soup base from scratch), but this was very tasty! a bit like chicken pot pie. it required a little more effort than I expected, but I assume that if you could follow the recipe as written it would be much easier. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I added cayenne pepper (just a pinch) family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by masage

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made it this evening & it was Great! I added a half can of cream of celery & cream of chicken. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loritoburito

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States