Easy A La King Biscuit Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I followed this recipe with the exception of using all fresh veggies but had to add spices to give it the quick I felt it was missing - poultry seasoning, celery salt, marjoram, pepper and sage. Good comfort food recipe that isn't too bad for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I had to substitute homemade turkey broth and turkey meat for the chicken broth/chicken meat in this casserole only because that's what I had on hand. I did use equal amounts fresh sliced baby bella mushrooms. I made this casserole in my cast iron skillet. What I did was browned the onion with the mushrooms, red pepper and a little fresh minced garlic in the butter in the skillet, then added the flour and let the mixture turn a light brown before adding the broth, turkey meat and the remaining vegetables. Before sticking the casserole in the oven, I brushed each biscuit with butter. My casserole was done in a little over 20 minutes. The whole family liked it. This is really like a quick Turkey Pot Pie. I'd make this again. Very filling and comforting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Home made goodness taste without the effort!! The kids even loved it. It was an easy way to sneak vegetables into a meal. I used a bag of frozen mixed vegetables instead of just plan peas. I skipped the peppers because no one in my family really likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
No clue what planet I was on when I put in 1/2 cup of flour. Had to scramble to add more butter, cursing like mad.. but it's weird. I had boiled up a large batch of chicken thighs for the meat, as I was 'going cheap', and I always make my own broth from that of course, so I had plenty of broth to keep adding to make the consistancy of my Mistake.. work. The stuff I ended up with was thicker still than I would normally have made it and I just knew it was going to be awful! it turned out awesome! lol Just goes to show, when a recipe is simple basic, it can cover lil mistakes like that. Now the family wants it Just that way all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
I adjusted this recipe only to include more chicken, as my kids are fanatics about white meat. This was the easiest, and most adaptable recipe I have found in a long time. Thanks Sara, my kids thought of it like a Chicken Pot Pie, and if I had told them Ala King, they would not have even tried it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
This recipe was pretty good. Like a big pot pie. I added frozen peas & carrots & eliminated the mushrooms & peppers since my kids won't eat them. Otherwise they really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very good. I liked not using soup to make the sauce. I added a touch of rosemary and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Wonderful! I love Terry's Easy Chicken Pie from this site but when I went on a diet, it became a "No-no". So, I started making this instead. I use can of mushrooms and some frozen corn, beans, and carrots in place of the veggies listed here. I also use reduced fat bisquits. It's great comfort food and my picky family loves it! Thanks for a great recipe, Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made it this evening & it was Great! I added a half can of cream of celery & cream of chicken. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loritoburito

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
My family really liked this recipe and it was very easy. I added corn and omitted the mushrooms and peppers.It was a little bland will spice up next time. This is a wonderful FAST meal after a hard day at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamala Henry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States