Eastern Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by wendyla
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Yummy, my guests loved it. I used brown rice instead of white, ommitted the spinach and added chopped carrot. For the dressing, I used my standby Oriental dressing recipe from the "Oriental Cold Noodle Salad" recipe on this site (adding in 2 TBS of chopped fresh ginger) Excellent, Healthy and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Great salad. I made per recipe, except omitted Spinach and Bean Sprouts. Used only 1/4" cup each of soy and oil. Next time I will add the cashews just before serving, as they got soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Very good, I didnt have any parsley so I left it out, instead I put some lemon juice on the dressing, it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I made this with quinoa, and it was delicious. I love the combination of cashews and mushrooms, and the veggies give the salad a great texture. I omitted the celery, used about half the green onions, and increased the parsley to about 1/3 cup. I also used half the amount of (olive) oil, and I drizzled in some toasted sesame oil. Next time, I'll add a touch of fresh ginger and some water chestnuts, and I'll sub hijiki for half of the spinach, for even more of an Asian flair. This would also be good with shredded cabbage and cilantro--the possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I read the reviews and suggestions before trying it and did find that halving the oil was a good idea. To spice up the dressing, which I spread before serving, I crushed some ginger, added twice the garlic and a dash of cayenne. It greatly helped, but I only gave it four stars because I feel it's still missing something. When I figure it out, I'll post back. Otherwise, still a good solid recipe in which some vegies are interchangeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Fabulous! I took the leftovers to a girls night out the next day - I liked it better the first day but my "chef" friend and ask for the recipe. Even my kids liked this one. I added more veggies than it calls for - but it's so hard to measure and I'm not going to all the trouble of chopping without using. I used a good bit more spinach, but I love it and it's so good for you. I also used lite soy. Thanks for a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
One of the best and unusual salads I have tried, a great change of pace! I do use sesame oil rather than vegetable oil, some celery seed and added plenty of raisins--this adds the sweetness and complexity that it needs. Let the dressing sit on the salad for about an hour before serving--it will make the mushrooms and rice much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I just thought this was OK, but one of my guests particularly loved it. I used brown rice instead of white, left out the spinach and halved the amount of soy sauce and quartered the amount of oil as it just seemed too much. It just didn't do it for me...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Good. I'll make again, but it wasn't great. Next time, I'll try to up the heat a bit as I thought it could use some pepper flakes or something. Nice change, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I made this salad with wild rice rather than white - it's healthier and makes a better presentation at a party. I wasn't that dazzled by the taste - the flavoring is almost purely that of soy sauce. Maybe a dash of sesame oil and a little sugar would have helped. At any rate my guests liked it and three asked for the recipe. However, I'm still looking for a more complex group of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States