Eastern Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
This recipe has been a hit at both a groom's rehearsal dinner and at a pot luck. I always get asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I bring this salad to every potluck I go to and everyone always asks for the recipe. I sometimes alter the recipe to make it different, by adding a little sesame oil and using different vegetables. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
Simple and delicious. I used white and wild rice instead of just white. A new classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
This is sooo good! It always gets rave reviews. I like to add the dressing just before serving, because it does tend to get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
I've made this salad for almost every BBQ we've attended this summer and am always asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Absolutely delicious! I served it with grilled tuna steaks and sourdough, it was a total hit. Everyone had additional helpings and kept commenting how yummy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
Great salad! Took it to a party last night and everyone loved it. I did make some changes based on our families preferences. I omitted the celery, green pepper, and bean sprouts. I used low sodium soy sauce and added about 1/2 tsp. sesame oil to the dressing. I added twice as much red pepper, 1/2 small can water chestnuts, a few pea pods, and a small can of mandarin oranges. I used only about 3/4 of the dressing - which was plenty for us. I loved the spinach and cashews in this salad. The kids even loved this salad! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This is the PERFECT potluck or cookout recipe. It is pretty, tastes wonderful, and doesn't have to be kept hot or cold. It is wonderful at room temperature. I made a few adjustments. I only used 1 green onion and 1 stalk of celery. I couldn't find fresh bean sprouts so I used a generous handful of canned bean sprouts. For the spinach, I used 1/2 bunch, coarsely chopped. For the garlic, I smashed one large clove then minced it. I took this salad to a cookout last night and came home with an empty bowl. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
this is a crowd pleaser! i prepared this for a meat-eating crowd and despite the veggie-ness of it they still loved it thanks to the nice flavor. it is an easy dish to bring to a gathering because it requires no warming up...and taking valuable oven space. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This was a perfect sidedish - it got rid of many of my leftover bits and pieces hanging around the fridge. I modified it slightly to fit what I had but it was still quite good. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORGGIEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson, Vermont, USA
Living In: Underhill, Vermont, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States