Eastern Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
Great salad! Took it to a party last night and everyone loved it. I did make some changes based on our families preferences. I omitted the celery, green pepper, and bean sprouts. I used low sodium soy sauce and added about 1/2 tsp. sesame oil to the dressing. I added twice as much red pepper, 1/2 small can water chestnuts, a few pea pods, and a small can of mandarin oranges. I used only about 3/4 of the dressing - which was plenty for us. I loved the spinach and cashews in this salad. The kids even loved this salad! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
This recipe has been a hit at both a groom's rehearsal dinner and at a pot luck. I always get asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
Simple and delicious. I used white and wild rice instead of just white. A new classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
This is sooo good! It always gets rave reviews. I like to add the dressing just before serving, because it does tend to get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
I've made this salad for almost every BBQ we've attended this summer and am always asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I bring this salad to every potluck I go to and everyone always asks for the recipe. I sometimes alter the recipe to make it different, by adding a little sesame oil and using different vegetables. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Absolutely delicious! I served it with grilled tuna steaks and sourdough, it was a total hit. Everyone had additional helpings and kept commenting how yummy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This is the PERFECT potluck or cookout recipe. It is pretty, tastes wonderful, and doesn't have to be kept hot or cold. It is wonderful at room temperature. I made a few adjustments. I only used 1 green onion and 1 stalk of celery. I couldn't find fresh bean sprouts so I used a generous handful of canned bean sprouts. For the spinach, I used 1/2 bunch, coarsely chopped. For the garlic, I smashed one large clove then minced it. I took this salad to a cookout last night and came home with an empty bowl. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
this is a crowd pleaser! i prepared this for a meat-eating crowd and despite the veggie-ness of it they still loved it thanks to the nice flavor. it is an easy dish to bring to a gathering because it requires no warming up...and taking valuable oven space. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This was a perfect sidedish - it got rid of many of my leftover bits and pieces hanging around the fridge. I modified it slightly to fit what I had but it was still quite good. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Luce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson, Vermont, USA
Living In: Underhill, Vermont, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States