Eastern Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Great salad! This recipe is perfect the way it's written. It was colorful. The soft and crunchy items went well together. The soy sauce dressing complimented the salad ingredients. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I was looking for recipes that have lots of vegetable yet not cooked. And this is the perfect one. I replaced vegetable oil with 1/4 of sesame oil and 3/4 of olive or flexseed oil. (people who doesn't like sesame oil should not do this at home) And it was great! crunch and feeling pretty healthy afterward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This was a perfect sidedish - it got rid of many of my leftover bits and pieces hanging around the fridge. I modified it slightly to fit what I had but it was still quite good. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Luce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson, Vermont, USA
Living In: Underhill, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
this is a crowd pleaser! i prepared this for a meat-eating crowd and despite the veggie-ness of it they still loved it thanks to the nice flavor. it is an easy dish to bring to a gathering because it requires no warming up...and taking valuable oven space. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This is the PERFECT potluck or cookout recipe. It is pretty, tastes wonderful, and doesn't have to be kept hot or cold. It is wonderful at room temperature. I made a few adjustments. I only used 1 green onion and 1 stalk of celery. I couldn't find fresh bean sprouts so I used a generous handful of canned bean sprouts. For the spinach, I used 1/2 bunch, coarsely chopped. For the garlic, I smashed one large clove then minced it. I took this salad to a cookout last night and came home with an empty bowl. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
Great salad! Took it to a party last night and everyone loved it. I did make some changes based on our families preferences. I omitted the celery, green pepper, and bean sprouts. I used low sodium soy sauce and added about 1/2 tsp. sesame oil to the dressing. I added twice as much red pepper, 1/2 small can water chestnuts, a few pea pods, and a small can of mandarin oranges. I used only about 3/4 of the dressing - which was plenty for us. I loved the spinach and cashews in this salad. The kids even loved this salad! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Good. However, I think that you could definitely let the flavors meld together longer with the sauce than just the 1 hour before. Also, I added water chestnuts and omitted bean sprouts- which was a good call for our family. Lastly, I would add more garlic to the sauce, lessen the amount of celery and green onions- since those two veggies somewhat overpour the dish. But other than that it's a very tasty rice dish. Will definitely try again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
I omitted the spinach and upped the rice to 1c. When I added the oil/soy sauce/garlic mix-even with all the veggies/rice-it was too salty and oily for me. I then cooked another cup of rice..let cool and then added it. This gave it a neat effect b/c the soy sauce mix had already "darkened" the rice I had mixed in and the addition of the new white rice gave it a neat look. Now, with the 2c cooked rice, it was much less salty and I was able to enjoy it better. However, not my favorite salad recipe, but still a nice idea and change from the norm. Thanks Teri.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Absolutely delicious! I served it with grilled tuna steaks and sourdough, it was a total hit. Everyone had additional helpings and kept commenting how yummy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I bring this salad to every potluck I go to and everyone always asks for the recipe. I sometimes alter the recipe to make it different, by adding a little sesame oil and using different vegetables. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States