Eastern Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Delicious!! I didnt have alot of the veggies so i substituted with julienned cucumber and carrots, red peppers, whater chestnuts, red onion, grape tomatoes and slivered almonds. I will definately make this for an upcoming potluck. I loved the carlic flavour...but then i did double the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I absolutely love this recipe. It is a nice change from the usual salads. Our family loves to bring this to potlucks!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
My husband just stated that this is his new favorite salad. I made this exactly as printed, except I didn't add bean sprouts (couldn't get them) and I shortchanged the vegetable oil so that I could add 1 Tbsp. sesame oil. I found it a little salty. Next time, I'll either use less soy sauce and add a touch of rice vinegar, or I'll use kecap asin, which is very similar to soy sauce, but has a touch of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
We loved this. Even my sisters asked me to make this again during their 10 days stay. We used left over cooked Japanese short grain rice which is stickier than longer grain rice. So we washed it with water to separate and also wash off some stickiness. It turned out great and my sisters took back home the recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
There was something off. I'm living out of the country, so some ingredients were a bit different. We did put a bit of sesame oil in... and maybe our Spinach wasn't spinach. I gave this 3 stars to keep it neutral to give the benefit of the doubt. We couldn't even eat this it was so bad. Though, my 1 year old loved it (but then again she likes to eat the dirt on the playground).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
This is an all time favorite with company at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NETCRAWLER2000CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cowansville, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
This recipe was a nice change from the normal rice side dish. I did half the oil & soy sauce, added some rice vinegar and crushed red pepper flakes for kicks. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
This was OK. I did use brown rice instead of white rice though. We ate it but my husband thought it was a little oily. Even after my husband's comment, I added just a LITTLE toasted sesame oil for flavor, as I thought it needed a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This is a very good salad. After reading that some said this needed more time to meld the flavors, but gets too soggy, I mixed everything together the night before EXCEPT the spinach leaves and cashews. I added the last two items the next morning before taking this for a lunch potluck. I might try using 1/4 of sesame oil and 1/4 of olive oil, to give it more flavor. It did seem to have a little too much oil after sitting. I think I might try adding chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERI63MI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Great salad! This recipe is perfect the way it's written. It was colorful. The soft and crunchy items went well together. The soy sauce dressing complimented the salad ingredients. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States