Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Based on the great reviews, I made a batch a few days ago to go with the pork butt I smoked. The taste was good, but unlike the sauces I'm used to, this has the consistency of water. I hope I don't ruin the flavor, but I'm planning to thicken it by adding some catsup, just as soon as there is enough room in the container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Chris Estes
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Excellent on pulled pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Estes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
It was really good just don't like the 2months part
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
DISGUSTING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DavidHale
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bozarth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I lived in East Carolina for over 40 yrs and my son was raised there. This is as close as you can get to the Real Deal ! We made for the family and they all (but one spoil sport) loved it. We did substitute the cayenne for crush red pepper and Texas Pete for the Tabasco, trying to keep it as close to what you'd find on any East Carolina restaurant table. The sauce was made a day in advance, which I would now do two, and we served the BBQ the next day, which I will now let rest at least over night. It was Much better the next day, as leftovers.(and even better two days after that)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
It's been a long time since I've had a sauce that reminds me of my college days in eastern NC. This is spot on! Great recipe! (Even got my British husband on board!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Delicious!!! Just what I have been looking for…reminds me of growing up going to "pig pickin's" while living in Goldsboro, NC. I now live in Alabama and I made this sauce for a church cookout…it was gone in minutes! It's a little on the spicy side, which is fine with me. I added a little bit more brown sugar for a sweeter taste. Already have people requesting me to make them a batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This recipe deserves high praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I found that this recipe gave me a decent baseline for understanding HOW to make a Carolina BBQ (I'm a New Englander), but I definitely had to make some adjustments. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out very thin and watery, and the vinegar flavor was totally overpowering. So I tried making it a second time, and what I did to combat these issues was actually pretty simple: I cut the amount of vinegar in half, and added some blackstrap molasses to balance out the flavor and add some more body. The result was absolutely delicious, and I highly recommend trying it that way. Although I am from up North, I have had the authentic Carolina BBQ sauce before, and I don't think that my adjustments hurt the integrity at all, or at least it didn't alter the makeup enough to render it unrecognizable as a Carolina BBQ. If the way I ended up doing it was how it was initially written up, I would have given this recipe a sure-fire five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Zeidler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States