Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
now this is how we do it in east nc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
The best recipe I have found for Eastern carolina BBQ Yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I FIND IT REALLY HARD TO PASS UP RATING A SAUCE THATS TITLE CAROLINA BBQ SAUCE, LET ME SAY AGAIN AS A EAST CAROLINA GIRL THIS IS THE TRUE EASTERN CAROLINA WAY. VINEGAR VINGAR VINEGAR, THATS THE KEY, ALSO THIS VERSION YOU DO NOT COOK. WHICH IS MOSTLY HOW I USE IT, IT IS BEST ON PORK BUT CHICKEN RULES ALSO, USE IT THROUGH OUT THE GRILLING PROCESS. IF USED ONLY ON COOKED MEAT IT WILL BE OVER POWERING. ALSO I ALWAYS USE RED PEPPER FLAKES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by griller3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I lived in Raleigh NC for 3 years and enjoyed the BBQ. This is as close as you will get to the real deal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was great, I've made it twice already and am craving it again. I wasn't sure how much to use so if you have that same question, here's what worked for me. I cooked a 2 1/2 pound pork loin (tenderloin wasn't as good) cut in half in the slow cooker for 8 hours on low (just pour a beer over it, season it with salt and pepper and throw in some garlic cloves). Then I shredded it using two forks and put it back in the crock pot and added this sauce in the "16 serving" size (1/2 cup of each vinegar). I like it extra spicy, so I added more cayenne pepper and also some habanero hot sauce (1T-ish). Just heat it through for 15 minutes and it's DELICIOUS. Extra-good with fresh sliced onions and cole slaw on them. Made enough for 16 well-stacked sandwiches. I'm making this for the next family get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe for Carolina BBQ. If you are unfamiliar with this style of BBQ you may not like it. I slow cooked a 7 pound pork butt for about 17 hours on my Kamado BBQ, shredded it and put it in a crock-pot with all of the sauce. I served it with Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw recipe with the pork on a hamburger bun. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Being Tarheel born and Tarheel bred, if this recipe got any more "eastern Carolina" we'd be getting our feet wet! I do pulled pork often and this sauce is its crowning glory! Many, Many thanks for a taste of home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernGma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Great..Who would have thought that you could have so many variances in different BBQ sauces. I never thought I would eat anything differently than the way we do it here in good old alabama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
The real deal. For the past 3 years, this has been my "GO TO" recpipe for ENCBBQ. Not only is it OUTSTANDING IMO, many locals have endorsed it as the closest they've had to the real thing. If you are looking for true ENC style BBQ, look no further. BTW, I've tried other recipes, with taste tests, and according to those "in the know", this is the clear winner! TWO THUMBS WAY UP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is it!!! I lived in ENC for over 16 years and grew to love this BBQ sauce. My son found this recipe and referred me to it. It is the real thing or as close as you can get. I have enjoyed making it a few times now and always swear I hear the ocean roaring as I'm eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States